Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Google Chrome stopped working
victorhelsing
 Posted: Sep 17 2011, 11:01 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Member No.: 9
Joined: 10-April 11









No apparent action on my part, although I did recently run system update (my system is now current 6.1)

My first thought is that it may be related to the libz.so library somehow; not sure where to go from here. I have tried installing different versions of chrome (stable/beta/unstable) without a change. I restored my root partition from a month ago copy and re-updated to bring it current, and the error recurs.

Any ideas?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Chrome fails to launch from the application menu or icons, and when running from shell:

/usr/bin/google-chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /usr/bin/google-chrome)
/usr/bin/google-chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /usr/bin/google-chrome)
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /opt/google/chrome/chrome)
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /opt/google/chrome/chrome)
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: error while loading shared libraries: cannot restore segment prot after reloc: Permission denied
^CCheck failed: g_shutdown_pipe_write_fd != -1
Check failed: g_shutdown_pipe_write_fd != -1
Aborted
[vhelsing@rogerasus ~]$ uname -r
2.6.32-131.12.1.el6.i686
PUIAS_6_addons_2 | 3.2 kB 00:00
PUIAS_6_addons_2/primary_db | 326 kB 00:01
adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
adobe-linux-i386/primary | 12 kB 00:00
adobe-linux-i386 18/18
atrpms | 3.5 kB 00:00
atrpms/primary_db | 1.2 MB 00:05
bitdefender | 951 B 00:00
bitdefender/primary | 3.8 kB 00:00
bitdefender 13/13
elrepo | 1.9 kB 00:00
elrepo/primary_db | 257 kB 00:01
elrepo-kernel | 951 B 00:00
elrepo-kernel/primary | 196 B 00:00
epel/metalink | 10 kB 00:00
epel | 4.3 kB 00:00
epel/primary_db | 3.4 MB 00:12
google | 951 B 00:00
google/primary | 3.2 kB 00:00
google 5/5
google-chrome | 951 B 00:00
google-chrome/primary | 1.4 kB 00:00
google-chrome 3/3
sl6x | 3.2 kB 00:00
sl6x/primary_db 16% [=====- ] 213 kB/s | 564 kB 00:13 ETsl6x/primary_db | 3.3 MB 00:09
sl6x-fastbugs | 1.9 kB 00:00
sl6x-fastbugs/primary_db | 776 kB 00:02
sl6x-security | 1.9 kB 00:00
sl6x-security/primary_db | 1.6 MB 00:04
spideroak-stable | 1.9 kB 00:00
spideroak-stable/primary_db | 18 kB 00:00
virtualbox | 951 B 00:00
virtualbox/primary | 3.6 kB 00:00
virtualbox 11/11
269 packages excluded due to repository priority protections
Error: No matching Packages to list
[vhelsing@rogerasus ~]$



PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 02:09 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1293
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









Maybe a 32 /64 bit mixup?

post the output of:

CODE
rpm -qa| grep zlib

and
CODE
rpm -qa | grep -i chrome



--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
victorhelsing
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 02:59 AM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Member No.: 9
Joined: 10-April 11









[vhelsing@rogerasus ~]$ rpm -qa | grep zlib
jzlib-1.0.7-7.5.el6.i686
zlibrary-ui-gtk-0.12.10-5.el6.i686
zlib-1.2.3-26.el6.i686
zlib-devel-1.2.3-26.el6.i686
zlibrary-0.12.10-5.el6.i686

[vhelsing@rogerasus ~]$ rpm -qa | grep -i chrome
xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-0.2.904-1.el6.i686
google-chrome-unstable-15.0.874.15-101261.i386
[vhelsing@rogerasus ~]$

Looks like 32 bit to me...(Chrome had been working fine, and I had not messed with chrome or zlib directly prior to the error - except for routine updates using the standard Software Update program.)

After the error occurred, I did try loading different stable/unstable/beta versions of chrome, using the Add/Remove Software and its registered repositories (Google Chrome), without fixing the problem.

No direct changes to zlib/libz.

Not a huge bother, either way, since Firefox is pretty good - I just prefer some of the chrome aesthetics and am disappointed that I managed to break it. [More worried, however, that something more devious could be underlying this manifestation.]
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 03:58 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1293
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









I don't think it's a SL problem. If you google for "/lib/libz.so.1: no version information available" you will find many people reporting this error even years ago with many different distros, so to me it looks like an obscure problem with Chrome.

BTW, I recommend Seamonkey, it's Firefox for grown-ups smile.gif .


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
Newfie
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 04:39 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Member No.: 683
Joined: 15-August 11









This was happening to me when using the Unstable build of Google Chrome on Fedora also. The current stable version works fine on my end.
PMEmail Poster
^
NeoAmsterdam
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 04:48 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 142
Member No.: 181
Joined: 16-May 11









Not to say "me too", so I'll say "good to know I'm not the only one" instead. wink.gif
PM
^
axiomatic
 Posted: Sep 18 2011, 07:57 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 848
Joined: 18-September 11









My chrome also went broken by
QUOTE

/usr/bin/google-chrome
/usr/bin/google-chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /usr/bin/google-chrome)
/usr/bin/google-chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /usr/bin/google-chrome)
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /opt/google/chrome/chrome)
/opt/google/chrome/chrome: /lib/libz.so.1: no version information available (required by /opt/google/chrome/chrome)


We need to downgrade zlib or compile a new from the scratch.

QUOTE
rpm -qa | grep zlib
zlib-1.2.3-25.el6.i686
jzlib-1.0.7-7.5.el6.i686
zlib-devel-1.2.3-25.el6.i686


QUOTE
rpm -qa | grep -i chrome
xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-0.2.904-1.el6.i686
google-chrome-stable-14.0.835.163-101024.i386


Somebody has an idea how to fix zlib?
PM
^
victorhelsing
 Posted: Sep 24 2011, 04:48 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Member No.: 9
Joined: 10-April 11









After being frustrated with this for quite a while, I managed to find a fix in another forum. Not sure what it does or how it works exactly:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looks similar to this issue: http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=87704

This should work (at least it worked for me):
# chcon -t usr_t /opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox

No need to turn off SELinux.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If someone is aware of a good reason not to do this, feel free to reply.
PM
^
luiceur
 Posted: Oct 25 2011, 08:21 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 967
Joined: 25-October 11









You are right, it works. I do not why, but it works also for me. The problem is I need to do it every certain time. It is very annoying.
Isn't there a better and permanent solution for that issue?
PM
^
zxq9
 Posted: Oct 28 2011, 01:07 AM
Quote Post


SLF Advocate
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 376
Member No.: 611
Joined: 5-August 11









There is no such thing as a "permanent solution" to anything related to Chrome other than not using it. It is a bundle of trash at this point, and I don't expect things to get better. (Firefox isn't very far behind, but there is a glimmer of hope that they will realize the enormous error they are making.)

Spot wrote about this a while back and explained, in some detail, why the process behind this particular family of Google products isn't likely to ever meet anybody's standards for quality or development. Interesting read. IMNSHO this app just isn't worth the effort.
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
Zugzwang
 Posted: Nov 17 2011, 06:00 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Member No.: 863
Joined: 23-September 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Sep 18 2011, 03:58 AM)
I don't think it's a SL problem. If you google for "/lib/libz.so.1: no version information available" you will find many people reporting this error even years ago with many different distros, so to me it looks like  an obscure problem with Chrome.

BTW, I recommend Seamonkey, it's Firefox for grown-ups smile.gif .



Hi Tux99,

Can you elaborate please on how you managed to install SeaMonkey? smile.gif I didn't find it in any of the additional repositories. And, the only version I got to work without dependency issues from Koji was 2.0.14 .. but I fear that is missing some security fixes.
PMEmail Poster
^
helikaon
 Posted: Nov 17 2011, 07:36 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 575
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (Zugzwang @ Nov 17 2011, 06:00 AM)
QUOTE (tux99 @ Sep 18 2011, 03:58 AM)
I don't think it's a SL problem. If you google for "/lib/libz.so.1: no version information available" you will find many people reporting this error even years ago with many different distros, so to me it looks likeĀ  an obscure problem with Chrome.

BTW, I recommend Seamonkey, it's Firefox for grown-ups smile.gif .



Hi Tux99,

Can you elaborate please on how you managed to install SeaMonkey? smile.gif I didn't find it in any of the additional repositories. And, the only version I got to work without dependency issues from Koji was 2.0.14 .. but I fear that is missing some security fixes.


Hi,
have eg. look into the tux99 signature link - he has it there :-)

cheers,


--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
Zugzwang
 Posted: Nov 17 2011, 09:45 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Member No.: 863
Joined: 23-September 11









Thanks Helikaon! I'll check it out =)
PMEmail Poster
^
oles.avramenko
 Posted: Mar 26 2012, 07:15 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 1404
Joined: 26-March 12









Actually it's simple problem.
You just have to launch google-chrome from simple user, and not from root.

You can modify this solution in order to make it work from root as well, but I guess it is not that good.
I think, google had done this in purpose in order to limit access.

So, being root just type $exit, and launch your script or whatever.
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Feb 14 2013, 07:23 AM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 503
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









Google Says Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Is Obsolete.

http://www.muktware.com/5203/google-says-red-hat-enterprise-linux-6-obsolete

Not thrilled.
PM
^
toracat
 Posted: Feb 14 2013, 10:58 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 249
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11











--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
joka
 Posted: Feb 14 2013, 11:04 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 167
Member No.: 107
Joined: 28-April 11









QUOTE (U308 @ Feb 14 2013, 08:23 AM)
Google Says Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Is Obsolete.

http://www.muktware.com/5203/google-says-red-hat-enterprise-linux-6-obsolete

Not thrilled.

Hmm, this was Google's contribution to the "I-love-Free-Software-Day"?

PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Feb 15 2013, 12:32 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1293
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









Spyware stops supporting RHEL6, good riddance... dry.gif


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
Nathan
 Posted: Feb 15 2013, 06:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 285
Member No.: 928
Joined: 15-October 11









Opera is going to start using WebKit from version 13 onwards, so anyone looking for a browser slightly similar to Chrome without the constant tracking can just wait a couple months.
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll