Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Huawei E1550 + NetworkManager + SL6
random_user
 Posted: Aug 20 2011, 05:16 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 725
Joined: 20-August 11









Hi, I've installed SL6 on my notebook and I was very surprised finding that networkmanager doesn't work properly.

nm-applet is already running (I can see this process), but there is no nm-applet icon on gnome-panel.

"connect automatically" option in nm-connection-editor doesn't change anything too. also I can't find my ethernet and wi-fi cards in nm-connection-editor.

to connect to internet I use huawei e1550, so I installed usb_modeswitch, usb_modeswitch_data and tcl, also I changed the mode of my modem to "modem only" with AT^U2DIAG=0 command.

I don't want to change distro, please help me to get normal networkmanager and activate my modem.
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 20 2011, 09:27 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1567
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









After some searching I found this website offering a Linux driver for Huawei E1550 Modems. Hope this helps.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL6.6 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
PM
^
random_user
 Posted: Aug 20 2011, 11:32 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 725
Joined: 20-August 11









> Hope this helps.

Unfortunately it doesn't sad.gif

I'm sure now the problem is in NetworkManager. I installed Mobile Partner and my modem worked with it just perfect. It even connected to internet! But no one program (Firefox, Elinks) could do the same. I still don't have nm-applet icon on gnome-panel and I think the system "doesn't see" this connection for some reason. It's as if NetworkManager hadn't been installed (but it is and the nm-applet process is already run). Also when I turn off the system there is a message "/etc/sysconfig/network does not exist". What's that?
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 20 2011, 02:48 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1567
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









All I can suggest is reporting this to the SL mailinglist.
The SL devs are on it and they may have a clue how to solve this.
It could be a bug (they will know if it is) and can advise to file a bugreport.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL6.6 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
PM
^
random_user
 Posted: Aug 23 2011, 05:14 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 725
Joined: 20-August 11









I tried CentOS 6 and had the same problem. I think it's something in default network configuration. Something doesn't allow NetworkManager to start.
PM
^
random_user
 Posted: Aug 25 2011, 10:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 725
Joined: 20-August 11









Well, I solved it.

# chkconfig network off
# chkconfig wpa_supplicant off
# chkconfig NetworkManager on
# touch /etc/sysconfig/network
# reboot

That's all. Now NetworkManager works well, nm-applet icon is in notification area and I can create my mobile broadband connection.
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 26 2011, 05:45 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1567
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









I remember that one from EL5 where NetworkManager wasn't used as default wink.gif

Thanks for the update http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL6.6 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll