Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Virtualbox 4.1 under SL 6.1
commandline
 Posted: Aug 2 2011, 05:10 PM
Quote Post


Unregistered















Hy again wink.gif

I have a problem with virtualbox under SL 6.1.

I installed the repo file for virtualbox and edited it (the repo doesnt contain a folder for 6.1, so i edited the repofile to use the 6.0 folder).

Installation went fine and virtualbox is useable.

Now for the Problem: My Notebook cant shutdown anymore. It freezes so hard that i have to disconnet ist from power and pull out the battery to get it working again.

Part of the Message:

Kernel Panic - not synching: Fatal exception in interrupt
Pid: 0, comm: swapper tainted.

Has anyone else got this problem with the i386 SL?
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Aug 2 2011, 10:16 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 130
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









Works fine here on SL 6.1 x86_64


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
commandline
 Posted: Aug 3 2011, 02:28 PM
Quote Post


Unregistered















I just tried the x64 version and it indeed works..... thanks lemonzest for the reply

there seems to be something wrong with the i386 Kernel or the x86 virtualbox :/
^
commandline
 Posted: Aug 5 2011, 07:59 AM
Quote Post


Unregistered















Ok. i tried several things but nothing really got me happy dry.gif

What i tried so far:

x86_LIVE: after installing virtualbox 4.1 the system fails so hard to shutdown that i have to disconnect power. (Kernel Panic)
x64_Live: iEverything works (except some missing Packages that i need)
x86_Install_DVD: System freezes on shutdown when virtualbox is installed but not so hard as the Live_CD
x64_Install_DVD: Everything works (except missing packages that i need)

Am I the onlyone who has Problems with the x86 System and Virtualbox 4.1?

EDIT: Guess i'll wait for the next Release.... Its a Bug: Virtualbox Ticket
^
U308
 Posted: Aug 6 2011, 01:37 PM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









QUOTE (commandline @ Aug 2 2011, 07:10 PM)
Hy again wink.gif

I have a problem with virtualbox under SL 6.1.

I installed the repo file for virtualbox and edited it (the repo doesnt contain a folder for 6.1, so i edited the repofile to use the 6.0 folder).


Hello, commandline,

Would you be so kind as to post your repo file to show how you edited the repo file ?
I have the problem you described after wget http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/fedora/virtualbox.repo and yum update.
Thank you.
PM
^
commandline
 Posted: Aug 6 2011, 06:22 PM
Quote Post


Unregistered















@U308

First thing i will do tomorrow wink.gif

EDIT from Today wink.gif:

I just changed the "$releaseserver" to 6.0. So the SL will use the 6.0 folder on the Oracle Server instead of searching for a non existing 6.1 folder.

Here is my virtualbox.repo file (changes are Bold Italic underlined wink.gif)


[virtualbox]
name=RHEL/CentOS-$releasever / $basearch - VirtualBox
baseurl=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/rhel/6.0/$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/oracle_vbox.asc

This post has been edited by commandline: Aug 7 2011, 04:53 AM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 7 2011, 07:30 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1569
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (commandline @ Aug 6 2011, 08:22 PM)
I just changed the "$releaseserver" to 6.0. So the SL will use the 6.0 folder on the Oracle Server instead of searching for a non existing 6.1 folder.

One of the problems related to soft-coding links. As long as every repo releases their software for the same platform at the same time nothing goes wrong. But since they don't ... well, you might be required to search and edit things yourself wink.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL6.6 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Aug 7 2011, 12:32 PM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









QUOTE (commandline @ Aug 6 2011, 08:22 PM)
@U308

First thing i will do tomorrow wink.gif

EDIT from Today wink.gif:

I just changed the "$releaseserver" to 6.0. So the SL will use the 6.0 folder on the Oracle Server instead of searching for a non existing 6.1 folder.

Here is my virtualbox.repo file (changes are Bold Italic underlined wink.gif)


[virtualbox]
name=RHEL/CentOS-$releasever / $basearch - VirtualBox
baseurl=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/rhel/6.0/$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/oracle_vbox.asc


Much appreciated commandline ! Have tried a vdi from one of my Ubuntus - viz. Kubuntu 11.04 guest. It runs a bit slower than on Ubuntu and the Desktop effects are automatically disabled by the Kubuntu 11.04 guest. Maybe a clean install would be better.

user posted image

Edit: Now, after restart the Desktop effects are fine. cool.gif
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Oct 10 2011, 04:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









I am not getting the latest 4.1.4 version yet from the virtualbox repo. The repo file is as per above post. Received about 1 week ago for (Ubuntu).
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll