scientificlinuxforum.org QR code
Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Enable (Thinkpad-)trackpoint (scrolling)
tuxor
 Posted: Jul 21 2011, 11:22 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 503
Joined: 21-July 11









Hi there,

I'm new to Scientific Linux, but not new to Linux. Since yesterday, I'm running SL 5.6 on my Thinkpad X31. (Newer versions do not work due to lack of cpu-pae-support.)

I tried to configure my trackpoint (scrolling) using this: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_configure_the_TrackPoint

In Fedora (on my Thinkpad T400s) I always use a file in /etc/xorg.conf.d/. Unfortunately, this doesn't work with SL 5.6...

Now which alternative way do I have to take? The xorg.conf versions didn't quite work. And I think, the reason is: there is no "/dev/input/by-path", even though evdev should be installed?!
Besides that, there is no command "xinput" in SL 5.6. Is there a possibility to install it?

Thanks in advance!
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jul 22 2011, 02:21 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Welcome to the one and only SLF, Tuxor! Helikaon may come to the rescue on this one smile.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
redman
 Posted: Jul 22 2011, 10:39 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1982
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tuxor @ Jul 22 2011, 01:22 AM)
(Newer versions do not work due to lack of cpu-pae-support.)

Well ... actually it can.
And we even have a nice guide for it wink.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
tuxor
 Posted: Jul 22 2011, 06:32 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 503
Joined: 21-July 11









Thanks for your replies smile.gif

QUOTE (redman @ Jul 22 2011, 11:39 AM)
QUOTE (tuxor @ Jul 22 2011, 01:22 AM)
(Newer versions do not work due to lack of cpu-pae-support.)

Well ... actually it can.
And we even have a nice guide for it wink.gif

I already found that guide, but unfortunately, I have no internet connection without Cisco VPN. So this should be really problematic.
PM
^
tuxor
 Posted: Jul 22 2011, 10:51 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 503
Joined: 21-July 11









I finally found a solution here: http://centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12665&forum=39

What I did is, I changed /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
CODE
Section "ServerLayout"
  ....
  InputDevice "Trackpoint"
  ....
EndSection

...

Section "InputDevice"
  Identifier "Trackpoint"
  Driver "mouse"
  Option "CorePointer"
  Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
  Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
  Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
  Option "EmulateWheel" "true"
  Option "EmulateWheelButton" "2"
EndSection
PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Jul 24 2011, 02:39 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 539
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









Hi,
thanks for sharing the solution smile.gif I kind of 'overlooked' this thread being at my page bottom, but i havent been needed, so http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif for you!

cheers,


--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll