Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> How to post images
redman
 Posted: Apr 11 2011, 10:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









If you want to use images in a posting, please consider using a website that offers free webhosting for images.
For example: ImageBam or ImageShack.

The reason for this is simple, by using this, you upload an image and get a download/display link you can use in a posting. The result is a small clickable thumbnail instead of large images on screen.

Not only does this keep any layout / tables / etc. in order, but is saves a lot of time downloading the whole page. This is especially friendly towards people using smartphones or people with low connection speeds!!


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 11 2011, 10:50 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Using ImageBam

Click "Select Files" and select the image(s) you want to upload on your computer.

The second step is to select what kind of images they are: "ADULT content" or "FAMILY SAFE content". It goes without saying that ONLY images that are "Family Safe" are allowed on this forum.

Next one, select the size of the thumbnail(s): 180x180 is a good choice.

Click "UPLOAD NOW" and you almost done.

When done, you get a new webpage with a download/display link (called BB code):
CODE
[URL=http://www.imagebam.com/image/a42d6f127461243][IMG]http://thumbnails25.imagebam.com/12747/a42d6f127461243.jpg[/IMG][/URL]


Copy/paste into your post and you get the following result:
user posted image



--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 11 2011, 10:55 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Using ImageShack

Click "Browse" and select the image you want to upload on your computer.
You can add up to 100 images this way.

Next is to select to which size the image must be resized: "150x112 (thumbnail)"

Click "Upload" and you're almost ready.

When uploading is finished, you get a new webpage with a download/display link (called Forum code):
CODE
[URL=http://img94.imageshack.us/i/sllogo800white.png/][IMG]http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/9671/sllogo800white.png[/IMG][/URL]

Uploaded with [URL=http://imageshack.us]ImageShack.us[/URL]


Copy/paste into your post and you get the following result (you might want to remove the "Uploaded with ..." link):

user posted image


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
redman
 Posted: May 24 2011, 10:42 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Another option is to post a link to an image instead of using thumbnails.
This would be something like: http://www.imagebam.com/image/a42d6f127461243

Especially useful for people who do not want to use free services for posting images (because you lose control over the image itself since it is hosted on the server of somebody else). Post an image on your own server and when you remove it really disappears. More info on this can be found here.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll