Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> How To Install Skype in 64 bit SL6, =wait till MS gets done with it!=
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 03:34 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









AS of this edit date, the following doesn't work anymore...see the post below for a link to something that does work.....

To install Skype in 64 bit Scientific Linux, do the following:

First, let's install some 32 compatibility libraries:

CODE
#yum install alsa-lib.i686 dbus-libs.i686 e2fsprogs-libs.i686 expat.i686 fontconfig.i686 freetype.i686 glib2.i686 glibc.i686 keyutils-libs.i686 krb5-libs.i686 libcap.i686 libgcc.i686 libICE.i686 libpng.i686 libselinux.i686 libSM.i686 libstdc++.i686 libX11.i686 libXau.i686 libxcb.i686 libXcursor.i686 libXdmcp.i686 libXext.i686 libXfixes.i686 libXi.i686 libXinerama.i686 libXrandr.i686 libXrender.i686 libXScrnSaver.i686 libXv.i686 openssl.i686 qt.i686 qt-x11.i686 zlib.i686


Next, let's set up a Skype repo (it works this way):

CODE
#gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/skype.repo


In that file copy the following lines:

CODE
[skype]
name=Skype Repository
baseurl=http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/fedora/updates/i586/
enabled=1
gpgkey=http://www.skype.com/products/skype/linux/rpm-public-key.asc
gpgcheck=0


Now you can easily install/update skype by typing (update, yeah right!):

CODE
#yum install skype


Now, let's get rid of some possible Video Chat quirkiness (from PUAIS notes):

CODE
#mv /usr/bin/skype /usr/bin/skype.proper
#cat << EOF > /usr/bin/skype
#!/bin/bash
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so
skype.proper
EOF


Lastly, let's make the new Skype launcher file executable (any user also):

CODE
#chmod a+x /usr/bin/skype


The old Skype executable has been renamed "skype.proper" per above.

NOTE: Per the above, with the Skype repo enabled, it's possible in the event of an update that the script file could be overwritten with a new skype file. Three choices: Turn off the Skype repo; Rename the launcher file; or do nothing like myself because you would be so very surprised in the event of an update to Skype (given MS's ownership), updating that script would be easily remembered. smile.gif

That should do it! Please post any problems here. This information was garnered from three different web sites and condensed here, because we are the best at not leaving how-to's half done! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joutlan: Jan 3 2013, 07:59 PM


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 05:22 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









Good guide, many thanks.

Let's hope Microsoft will finally give us a 64bit Skype for Linux (yeah right...).

Edit: that said I'm not even sure I will ever install a newer version of Skype again, I simply don't trust Microsoft not to include a back-door.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 06:52 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









You're welcome. I agree about MS. This should be interesting.

//OFFTopic but relevant to making programs work://Tux, you'd be a real local hero to some folks around here if you packaged Banshee ...hint hint? laugh.gif
(I may try it myself if I can quit changing locations and packing my laptop up long enough to sit down for a while) http://fuzedglobal.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/facepalm.gif ph34r.gif laugh.gif
//RETURN to topic//


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 08:33 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 24 2011, 07:52 AM)

//OFFTopic but relevant to making programs work://Tux, you'd be a real local hero to some folks around here if you packaged Banshee ...hint hint?  laugh.gif
//RETURN to topic//


While I'm quite happy to also (in addition to the stuff I do because I use it myself) package up stuff for others that I don't use myself (time permitting), unfortunately Banshee has one huge road-block for me: it requires Mono ohmy.gif and I'm not going anywhere near that pile of **CENSORED** http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/BangHead1.gif (I mean Mono, not Banshee).

Maybe try to rebuild rpm packages from another distro that has Banshee and Mono, Fedora 13 has Banshee, it shouldn't be that hard to rebuild those packages for SL6: http://pkgs.org/fedora-13/fedora-updates-x86_64/banshee-1.6.1-4.fc13.x86_64.rpm.html


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 06:24 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 24 2011, 04:33 AM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 24 2011, 07:52 AM)

//OFFTopic but relevant to making programs work://Tux, you'd be a real local hero to some folks around here if you packaged Banshee ...hint hint?   laugh.gif
//RETURN to topic//


While I'm quite happy to also (in addition to the stuff I do because I use it myself) package up stuff for others that I don't use myself (time permitting), unfortunately Banshee has one huge road-block for me: it requires Mono ohmy.gif and I'm not going anywhere near that pile of **CENSORED** http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/BangHead1.gif (I mean Mono, not Banshee).

Maybe try to rebuild rpm packages from another distro that has Banshee and Mono, Fedora 13 has Banshee, it shouldn't be that hard to rebuild those packages for SL6: http://pkgs.org/fedora-13/fedora-updates-x86_64/banshee-1.6.1-4.fc13.x86_64.rpm.html


Ah....yes, it does.......I don't want to get into a mono discussion(done it a thousand times), just suffice it to say I don't have a problem with mono wink.gif

I'll have a look at it..... http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 07:42 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 24 2011, 07:24 PM)
I don't want to get into a mono discussion(done it a thousand times), just suffice it to say I don't have a problem with mono wink.gif


I don't want to get into a mono discussion either, but I had to mention it to explain why I can't do Banshee.

Anyway if you get stuck with errors somewhere post them here (or in a separate banshee thread) and I will try to help if I can.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 24 2011, 08:12 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 24 2011, 03:42 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 24 2011, 07:24 PM)
I don't want to get into a mono discussion(done it a thousand times), just suffice it to say I don't have a problem with mono wink.gif


I don't want to get into a mono discussion either, but I had to mention it to explain why I can't do Banshee.

Anyway if you get stuck with errors somewhere post them here (or in a separate banshee thread) and I will try to help if I can.


Will do, thanks. I might have time this weekend. I'm packing the laptops up now....truth be told though, Rhythmbox works perfectly fine for me. Only reason I wanted Banshee is last time I tried it worked better with my iPod....other than that, no reason smile.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
alexander.hunt
 Posted: Jun 30 2011, 10:33 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 149
Joined: 10-May 11









Hi, Thanks very much for the guide joutlan, it almost got me up and running with Skype, and it's awesome to have all this info in one place. I'll just add a couple things I also had to do here that might help others:

I read somewhere (I wish I could remember where, to give appropriate credit) that someone needed to change the skype executable that's in the rpm install, to the one from the "static" skype version to make it work; I also had to do that. (ie. install the rpm version and then just change /usr/bin/skype to the one in the static package and name it skype.proper)

To make my webcam work (MacBook notebook) I needed to put in the following:

[snip]
I had to add “export LD_PRELOAD” just before line “skype.proper” to get my webcam working. May be it can help someone else.

Credit to/Comment by deskartez on January 13, 2010 at 1:16 am
found here: http://allmybase.com/2009/08/04/skype-on-64-bit-fedora-11-linux/
(which the puias article on the subject gives credit to)
and in reference to this part of the intructions above:

#mv /usr/bin/skype /usr/bin/skype.proper
#cat << EOF > /usr/bin/skype
#!/bin/bash
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so
skype.proper
EOF

Lastly for anyone trying to use a USB sound-card device (I have to because Apple makes the input port a line-in instead of a mic input); I had to build the pulseaudio volume control to be able to entirely turn off the internal sound device so that skype would use the external one. I tried doing that with the other various alsa-sound and pulseaudio controls with no success. The link to download pavucontrol is here:
http://0pointer.de/lennart/projects/pavucontrol/
and to disable a sound-card, it's the configuration tab, then choose "profile" for the internal card, and choose "off", and restart skype if it was running.

Hopefully that will help more people get the silly software running properly (It's taken me 5 or 6 attempts over the last year and this was the only guide that worked).

Regards to all,
Alex
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jul 1 2011, 12:47 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Thanks Alexander for the additions. That may very well help someone else out! http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
Code_Warrior
 Posted: Jul 12 2011, 07:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Member No.: 431
Joined: 12-July 11









Hi!

I'm training to start static version of skype. I use x86_64 architecture and SL 6. I got 1 dependencies which I can't resolve - skype require libSM.i686 which require libuuid.i686, but I already have installed libuud.x86_64 and when I try to install libuuid.i686 I get error:
CODE

Transaction Check Error:
 package libuuid-2.17.2-6.el6_0.1.x86_64 (which is newer than libuuid-2.17.2-6.el6.i686) is already installed


In which way can I solve this?

Thanks and sorry for my English. unsure.gif
PMEmail PosterICQ
^
Code_Warrior
 Posted: Jul 13 2011, 02:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Member No.: 431
Joined: 12-July 11









Found this solution.
It really helps me.
PMEmail PosterICQ
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jul 13 2011, 07:40 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (Code_Warrior @ Jul 13 2011, 10:09 AM)
Found this solution.
It really helps me.


Nice find Code_Warrior! Nice addition to this thread. I had that repo on all the time, that's probably why I didn't have this problem.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
joutlan
 Posted: Aug 27 2011, 08:21 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I'm having package conflicts with the above after upgrading to 6.1 x64, notably:

CODE
Error: Protected multilib versions: libdrm-2.4.23-1.el6.i686 != libdrm-2.4.25-1.el6.elrepo.x86_64


I'm going to work on this, but if anyone has a suggestion please post. I get this error reinstalling the 32bit libraries....I had to remove some of them to get up to 6.1 without errors. It only affects Skype.

My other option is NOT to use Skype smile.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 27 2011, 12:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1402
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Aug 27 2011, 10:21 AM)
It only affects Skype.

Then ditch the M$ problem wink.gif

There are alternatives cool.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
penguin
 Posted: Oct 30 2011, 02:50 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 799
Joined: 2-September 11









I get following error message when running skype from gnome-terminal. Mind you I've applied lemonzest's patch for smooth fonts. Skype seems to work fine. So how does these error affect skype, if at all?

CODE

ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib64/libXft-freeworld/libXft.so.2' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib64/freetype-infinality/libfreetype.so.6.7.0' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib64/libXft-freeworld/libXft.so.2' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib64/freetype-infinality/libfreetype.so.6.7.0' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib64/cairo-freeworld/libcairo.so.2' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.


Thanks.
PM
^
feedmebits
 Posted: Oct 31 2011, 09:21 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 85
Member No.: 953
Joined: 20-October 11









QUOTE (redman @ Aug 27 2011, 01:09 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Aug 27 2011, 10:21 AM)
It only affects Skype.

Then ditch the M$ problem wink.gif

There are alternatives cool.gif


skype is now history for linux. Will have to check out those alternatives


--------------------
user posted image
PM
^
freddie50
 Posted: Nov 2 2011, 01:18 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









PM
^
coverup
 Posted: Nov 21 2011, 10:13 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 9
Member No.: 1054
Joined: 21-November 11









I am trying SL6.1 64-bit LiveCD. The first command (install 32bit libraries) returns errors:
CODE
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Protected multilib versions: 1:dbus-libs-1.2.24-5.el6_1.i686 != 1:dbus-libs-1.2.24-4.el6_0.x86_64
Error: Protected multilib versions: 2:libpng-1.2.46-1.el6_1.i686 != 2:libpng-1.2.44-1.el6.x86_64
Error: Protected multilib versions: freetype-2.3.11-6.el6_1.8.i686 != freetype-2.3.11-6.el6_1.6.x86_64
Error: Protected multilib versions: openssl-1.0.0-10.el6_1.5.i686 != openssl-1.0.0-10.el6.x86_64
Error: Protected multilib versions: krb5-libs-1.9-9.el6_1.2.i686 != krb5-libs-1.9-9.el6_1.1.x86_64
You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest

I also tried this guide for installing skype on 64 bit Fedora 16. The list of libraries is much shorter, and there were no dependency issues. However, I ran into problems:

1. Fedora rpm from the skype website, refused to start leaving the "Aborted" message.

2. Static skype worked fine, however other commands (eg, ssh) started producing "Input/Output Error" message right after skype was installed and ran for the first time.

I had the 1st problem on Fedora 16 too, but static skype worked with no problems. Any suggestions?
PM
^
geo
 Posted: Dec 31 2012, 09:23 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2134
Joined: 12-December 12









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 24 2011, 04:34 AM)
To install Skype in 64 bit Scientific Linux, do the following:

First, let's install some 32 compatibility libraries:

CODE
#yum install alsa-lib.i686 dbus-libs.i686 e2fsprogs-libs.i686 expat.i686 fontconfig.i686 freetype.i686 glib2.i686 glibc.i686 keyutils-libs.i686 krb5-libs.i686 libcap.i686 libgcc.i686 libICE.i686 libpng.i686 libselinux.i686 libSM.i686 libstdc++.i686 libX11.i686 libXau.i686 libxcb.i686 libXcursor.i686 libXdmcp.i686 libXext.i686 libXfixes.i686 libXi.i686 libXinerama.i686 libXrandr.i686 libXrender.i686 libXScrnSaver.i686 libXv.i686 openssl.i686 qt.i686 qt-x11.i686 zlib.i686


Next, let's set up a Skype repo (it works this way):

CODE
#gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/skype.repo


In that file copy the following lines:

CODE
[skype]
name=Skype Repository
baseurl=http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/fedora/updates/i586/
enabled=1
gpgkey=http://www.skype.com/products/skype/linux/rpm-public-key.asc
gpgcheck=0


Now you can easily install/update skype by typing (update, yeah right!):

CODE
#yum install skype


Now, let's get rid of some possible Video Chat quirkiness (from PUAIS notes):

CODE
#mv /usr/bin/skype /usr/bin/skype.proper
#cat << EOF > /usr/bin/skype
#!/bin/bash
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so
skype.proper
EOF


Lastly, let's make the new Skype launcher file executable (any user also):

CODE
#chmod a+x /usr/bin/skype


The old Skype executable has been renamed "skype.proper" per above.

NOTE:  Per the above, with the Skype repo enabled, it's possible in the event of an update that the script file could be overwritten with a new skype file.  Three choices:  Turn off the Skype repo; Rename the launcher file; or do nothing like myself because you would be so very surprised in the event of an update to Skype (given MS's ownership), updating that script would be easily remembered.  smile.gif

That should do it!  Please post any problems here.  This information was garnered from three different web sites and condensed here, because we are the best at not leaving how-to's half done!  biggrin.gif

PMEmail Poster
^
joka
 Posted: Jan 2 2013, 11:42 AM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 168
Member No.: 107
Joined: 28-April 11









The Skype4 RPMs from Microsoft for Fedora don't work anymore for RHEL6.
However, in the CentOS Wiki there is a guide how to install Skype 4.0: http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/Skype
which is working for me (and it is compatible with EPEL and Linuxtech repos).

Alternatively, there seems to be a skype 4 RPM available from Russian Fedora (noted by Nux!) which automates the workarounds described in the CentOS Wiki. (Not tested or used by me).
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jan 2 2013, 08:11 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Thanks for info Joka! biggrin.gif I was aware it didn't work anymore, and forgot to notate the OP. Done. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joutlan: Jan 2 2013, 08:13 PM


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll