scientificlinuxforum.org QR code
Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Wirless problem, help with the wirless driver
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 21 2011, 09:04 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









i am from Argentina and I have a problem with my pc driver vostro 1500 the board is mini pci wlan 1395 I can not get wifi. download one from this page and I can not http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php Compiled.
I'm new to using linux.
I have little English.
thanks
salu2
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 21 2011, 10:32 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1180
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Hola Mart...como estas? Bienveneidos!

Mi espanol es solo basico. smile.gif

You shouldn't have any problem with a Vostro 1500 and Wifi. Are you sure it's not something simple like a fn>f2 to turn it on?


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 21 2011, 11:07 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









I'm sure, when I open the network options I get Wirler and says it needs the firmeware.
thanks
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 21 2011, 11:37 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1180
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (Mart_uncho @ Jun 21 2011, 07:07 PM)
I'm sure, when I open the network options I get Wirler and says it needs the firmeware.
thanks


OK...I'm surprised the firmware doesn't load for that on boot up...but that easy to fix....check intel wireless if it's intel....do an RPM search on PBONE.net or RPMfind.net for your iwlagn firmware.




--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 21 2011, 11:46 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









hello please tell me how to do a little more I'm new ... and I do not handling well ... I want to learn! ...
thank you very much apologize for any inconvenience.
my broadband car is mini pci wlan 1395 de Dell

leyendo esta guia saque estos datos no se si sirven para algo... busque pero no encontre nada :s ... salu2

http://nibblesmx.dimono.com/documentos/red-inalambrica-en-ubuntu-con-ndiswrapper

* Chipset: BCM4312 802.11b/g (Rev. 01), Intel Processor, T3400, 2.16, 1MB, Core Penryn, 2C, M0
* pciid: 14e4:4315
* Driver: driver=wl2, driverversion=5.10.91.9, ftp://ftp.compaq.com/pub/softpaq/sp33001-33500/sp33008.exe

PMEmail Poster
^
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 22 2011, 04:29 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









download this driver but when I throw an error Compiled ... this is the error
how do I fix it? ..
thanks
salu2
http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

error
[Martin@Martin ~]$ make
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.32-131.2.1.el6.i686/build: No existe el fichero o el directorio. Alto.
make: *** [all] Error 2
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 22 2011, 05:50 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1180
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Ahhhh Broadcom, no mi gusta....LOL

I'll check for you after I get my own SL set up.....it's looking great btw wink.gif



--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
msharmavikram
 Posted: Jul 1 2011, 05:48 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 371
Joined: 1-July 11









well.. i do think... DELL provides necessary drivers for linux os. check dell website for more details abt it...

incase if u didnt find any... den i would recomend u to follow these steps given in the forum. i have the same wifi hardware and the problem got resolved.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=239922

the steps are clearly mentined and apllicable for any wifi drivers smile.gif
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll