Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Wifi Problem on Dell Vostro 3350, Need help with troubleshouting
freddie50
 Posted: Jun 11 2011, 11:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









Hi all,

I am unable to connect to the wifi with F15!
I have a new Dell Vostro 3350 (13,3'').

Here are a few outputs
1) lspci | grep -i net
2) iwconfig
3) dmesg output, I can see some issues (where I placed some arrows -->) but don't know how to interpret...
Anyone?
Thank you!

1) lspci | grep -i net
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
09:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Device 008a (rev 34)

2) iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

pci34p1 no wireless extensions.

3) dmesg
[ 11.017990] iwlagn: Intel® Wireless WiFi Link AGN driver for Linux, in-tree:d
[ 11.017998] iwlagn: Copyright© 2003-2010 Intel Corporation
[ 11.018156] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
[ 11.018214] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 11.018367] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: Detected Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 1030 BGN, REV=0xB0
[ 11.035663] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: device EEPROM VER=0x716, CALIB=0x6
[ 11.035669] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: Device SKU: 0X9
[ 11.035673] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: Valid Tx ant: 0X1, Valid Rx ant: 0X3
[ 11.035718] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: Tunable channels: 13 802.11bg, 0 802.11a channels
[ 11.036375] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: irq 50 for MSI/MSI-X
[ 11.164769] udev[459]: renamed network interface eth0 to pci34p1
[ 11.380024] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[ 11.380033] cfg80211: (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[ 11.380041] cfg80211: (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 11.380048] cfg80211: (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 11.380055] cfg80211: (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 11.380061] cfg80211: (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 11.380067] cfg80211: (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 11.525792] Adding 6062076k swap on /dev/mapper/vg_vostro-lv_swap. Priority:0 extents:1 across:6062076k
[ 11.578584] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4633: autoconfig: line_outs=1 (0xd/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 11.578597] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4637: speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 11.578605] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4641: hp_outs=1 (0xb/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 11.578613] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4642: mono: mono_out=0x0
[ 11.578619] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4646: inputs:
[ 11.578624] ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:4652:
[ 11.578833] ALSA sound/pci/hda/patch_sigmatel.c:3073: stac92xx: dac_nids=1 (0x13/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
-->[ 11.590936] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-6000g2b-5.ucode' failed.
-->[ 11.597435] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-6000g2b-4.ucode' failed.
-->[ 11.597449] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: no suitable firmware found!
-->[ 11.597877] iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: PCI INT A disabled
[ 11.610111] input: HDA Intel PCH Mic at Ext Right Jack as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input9
[ 11.610668] input: HDA Intel PCH HP Out at Ext Right Jack as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input10
[ 11.974551] systemd-fsck[669]: /dev/sda3: clean, 11/6406144 files, 450097/25600000 blocks
[ 12.092026] systemd-fsck[668]: /dev/sda1: clean, 37/64000 files, 13771/256000 blocks
[ 12.185247] EXT4-fs (sda3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 12.185269] SELinux: initialized (dev sda3, type ext4), uses xattr
[ 12.292679] EXT4-fs (sda1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 12.292699] SELinux: initialized (dev sda1, type ext4), uses xattr
[ 13.698251] systemd-fsck[729]: /dev/mapper/vg_vostro-lv_home: clean, 1201/20406272 files, 1360707/81616896 blocks
[ 13.892966] EXT4-fs (dm-2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[ 13.892986] SELinux: initialized (dev dm-2, type ext4), uses xattr
[ 14.389294] type=1400 audit(1307826020.023:4): avc: denied { read } for pid=745 comm="systemd-tmpfile" name="lock" dev=dm-0 ino=1836538 scontext=system_u:system_r:systemd_tmpfiles_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:object_r:var_t:s0 tclass=lnk_file
[ 15.261352] NetworkManager[759]: <info> NetworkManager (version 0.8.998-2.git20110406.fc15) is starting...
[ 15.261380] NetworkManager[759]: <info> Read config file /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
[ 15.553438] /usr/sbin/crond[762]: (CRON) INFO (running with inotify support)
[ 15.664416] acpid[822]: starting up with netlink and the input layer
[ 15.667650] acpid[822]: skipping incomplete file /etc/acpi/events/videoconf
[ 15.667686] acpid[822]: 1 rule loaded
[ 15.667715] acpid[822]: waiting for events: event logging is off
[ 15.859150] smartd[779]: smartd 5.40 2010-10-16 r3189 [x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu] (local build)
[ 15.859179] smartd[779]: Opened configuration file /etc/smartd.conf
[ 15.863859] ntpdate[823]: Can't find host 0.fedora.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
[ 15.864698] ntpdate[823]: Can't find host 1.fedora.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
[ 15.865483] ntpdate[823]: Can't find host 2.fedora.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
[ 15.866300] ntpdate[823]: Can't find host 3.fedora.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
[ 15.866321] ntpdate[823]: no servers can be used, exiting
[ 15.872619] smartd[779]: Configuration file /etc/smartd.conf was parsed, found DEVICESCAN, scanning devices
[ 15.913511] smartd[779]: Device: /dev/sda, type changed from 'scsi' to 'sat'
[ 15.913748] smartd[779]: Device: /dev/sda [SAT], opened
[ 15.943491] smartd[779]: Device: /dev/sda [SAT], not found in smartd database.
[ 16.309718] smartd[779]: Device: /dev/sda [SAT], is SMART capable. Adding to "monitor" list.
[ 16.309906] smartd[779]: Monitoring 1 ATA and 0 SCSI devices
[ 16.593288] ip6_tables: © 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
[ 17.795327] dbus[819]: avc: netlink poll: error 4
[ 18.573851] auditd (865): /proc/865/oom_adj is deprecated, please use /proc/865/oom_score_adj instead.
[ 19.399423] r8169 0000:05:00.0: pci34p1: link down
[ 19.399439] r8169 0000:05:00.0: pci34p1: link down
[ 19.400195] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): pci34p1: link is not ready
[ 19.700603] Bluetooth: L2CAP ver 2.15
[ 19.700611] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[ 19.797161] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[ 19.797170] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[ 19.813423] Bluetooth: SCO (Voice Link) ver 0.6
[ 19.813432] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[ 19.988868] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[ 19.988877] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[ 19.988880] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.11
[ 20.167028] RPC: Registered udp transport module.
[ 20.167031] RPC: Registered tcp transport module.
[ 20.167033] RPC: Registered tcp NFSv4.1 backchannel transport module.
[ 20.452162] SELinux: initialized (dev rpc_pipefs, type rpc_pipefs), uses genfs_contexts
[ 21.008116] r8169 0000:05:00.0: pci34p1: link up
[ 21.008559] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): pci34p1: link becomes ready
[ 31.028080] pci34p1: no IPv6 routers present
[ 41.346734] fuse init (API version 7.16)
[ 41.379607] SELinux: initialized (dev fusectl, type fusectl), uses genfs_contexts
[ 41.402685] SELinux: initialized (dev fuse, type fuse), uses genfs_contexts
[ 123.568674] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 14308, at 14308], missed IRQ?
[ 133.079972] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 15220, at 15220], missed IRQ?
[ 224.660566] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 36398, at 36398], missed IRQ?
[ 232.546869] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 37916, at 37916], missed IRQ?
[ 247.741153] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 41111, at 41111], missed IRQ?
[ 426.359303] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 132429, at 132429], missed IRQ?
[ 491.571314] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 173806, at 173806], missed IRQ?
[ 540.082739] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 179155, at 179155], missed IRQ?
[ 566.860772] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 182329, at 182329], missed IRQ?
[ 569.009431] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 182505, at 182505], missed IRQ?
[ 808.912359] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 225318, at 225318], missed IRQ?
[ 1015.273649] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 308873, at 308873], missed IRQ?
[ 1476.697388] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 584509, at 584509], missed IRQ?
[ 1480.423828] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 586133, at 586133], missed IRQ?
[ 1481.969458] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 586179, at 586179], missed IRQ?
[ 1676.055184] [drm:i915_hangcheck_ring_idle] *ERROR* Hangcheck timer elapsed... blt ring idle [waiting on 633928, at 633928], missed IRQ?
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 12 2011, 02:39 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Are you posting this question about Fedora 15? Remember this is a SL Forum, and it's not exactly the same. Close only counts in hand grenades laugh.gif

That said, I have a 3350 on order for a work machine. It will have an Intel Wifi card also. I won't have it for 10 days or longer, so can't help you right now. That said, it looks solvable. http://www.ubuntu.com/certification/hardware/201101-6951 There isn't some nasty piece of hardware that drivers don't exist for.

Do you have the Intel Wireless N 1030? I would be running the down the firmware from Intel Wireless Linux and make sure the right firmware is in the right place. That's what it is. It's new (the 1030) and those things happen sometimes.

You cross-posted us at Fedora Forums. So I'm expecting the courtesy of a solution posted here also. I'm going to leave this post here because I've that same unit on the way, and it's possible the solution may be (is probably) the same. I'll then adjust everything for archives. smile.gif

thanks Freddie50! biggrin.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Jun 12 2011, 03:15 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 480
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









Hello,
Do you have the firmware installed?
CODE
rpm -q iwl6000-firmware

If the above command doesn't list the firmware package then install the firmware
CODE
su -c 'yum install iwl6000-firmware'



Hope this helps
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 12 2011, 03:26 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Yep...you can also manually put in place the firmware microcode in /usr/lib64/*** or wherever it belongs and reboot.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 12 2011, 07:57 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Did you get wireless up? If so, please post what you did here. If not, I can guarantee a solution because I'll have this unit in 10 days laugh.gif laugh.gif

EDIT: Possible solution Here.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
freddie50
 Posted: Jun 13 2011, 04:00 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 12 2011, 08:57 PM)
Did you get wireless up?  If so, please post what you did here.  If not, I can guarantee a solution because I'll have this unit in 10 days  laugh.gif laugh.gif

EDIT:  Possible solution Here.


Thanks for your reply everyone,

I have some issues with wifi on either SL 6 or Fedora, I just cannot get this wifi work...
I am sure the computer's wifi is on as there is a little led on to confirm that.
Please let me know when the wifi is up and running on your new laptop Joutlan.
I am indeed really interested to know how to do that.
I believe I have the same issue as this gentleman:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=265070

Thank you again
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 13 2011, 06:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (freddie50 @ Jun 13 2011, 12:00 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 12 2011, 08:57 PM)
Did you get wireless up?  If so, please post what you did here.  If not, I can guarantee a solution because I'll have this unit in 10 days  laugh.gif laugh.gif

EDIT:  Possible solution Here.


Thanks for your reply everyone,

I have some issues with wifi on either SL 6 or Fedora, I just cannot get this wifi work...
I am sure the computer's wifi is on as there is a little led on to confirm that.
Please let me know when the wifi is up and running on your new laptop Joutlan.
I am indeed really interested to know how to do that.
I believe I have the same issue as this gentleman:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=265070

Thank you again


Don't worry about that....just check back here....thanks Freddie, good luck...I've been dealing with wifi demons a long time as my hardware was always pushing the kernel boundaries. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
bbfuller
 Posted: Jun 14 2011, 12:01 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 46
Joined: 14-April 11









Hello freddie50

I asked the question on the Fedora Forum and I'll ask it again here.

Have you actually installed the firmware? It doesn't come ready installed with Fedora.

Have you looked in the "/lib/firmware" folder to see if the files you identified in your 'dmesg' output are actually in place?
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 14 2011, 12:16 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (bbfuller @ Jun 13 2011, 08:01 PM)
Hello freddie50

I asked the question on the Fedora Forum and I'll ask it again here.

Have you actually installed the firmware? It doesn't come ready installed with Fedora.

Have you looked in the "/lib/firmware" folder to see if the files you identified in your 'dmesg' output are actually in place?


Great question bbfuller! I'll answer that directly when I get mine; at the very least. biggrin.gif

If you can check that for us, Freddie, we'd sure like to know.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
freddie50
 Posted: Jun 14 2011, 08:31 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









On SL6:
uname -a
Linux vostro 2.6.32-131.2.1.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu Jun 2 09:49:26 CDT 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

dmesg | grep firmware
iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-6000g2b-5.ucode
iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-6000g2b-5.ucode' failed.
iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-6000g2b-4.ucode
iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-6000g2b-4.ucode' failed.
iwlagn 0000:09:00.0: no suitable firmware found!
platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-2a-07
platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-2a-07
platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-2a-07
platform microcode: firmware: requesting intel-ucode/06-2a-07


in /lib/firmware:
ll | grep iwlwifi
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 335056 Aug 7 2009 iwlwifi-1000-3.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 149816 Oct 21 2008 iwlwifi-3945-1.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 150100 Apr 23 2009 iwlwifi-3945-2.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 149652 Jun 20 2007 iwlwifi-3945.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 187608 Jul 2 2008 iwlwifi-4965-1.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 187972 Jun 23 2009 iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 345008 Jun 2 2008 iwlwifi-5000-1.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 353240 Apr 23 2009 iwlwifi-5000-2.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 337400 May 14 2009 iwlwifi-5150-2.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 459992 Sep 25 2009 iwlwifi-6000-4.ucode
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 463692 Apr 28 2010 iwlwifi-6050-4.ucode

rpm -q iwl6000-firmware
iwl6000-firmware-9.176.4.1-2.el6.noarch


rpm -q iwl6000g2b-firmware
package iwl6000g2b-firmware is not installed

yum install iwl6000g2b-firmware
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
No package iwl6000g2b-firmware available.

Where can I find/how can I install iwl6000g2b-firmware?

Thank you,
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 14 2011, 08:39 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I would grab the correct .ucode file at intel wireless and copy and paste it into the correct location manually. Forget the rpm. Then reboot and try it again.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
freddie50
 Posted: Jun 15 2011, 08:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 14 2011, 09:39 PM)
I would grab the correct .ucode file at intel wireless and copy and paste it into the correct location manually.  Forget the rpm. Then reboot and try it again.


Thank you so much guys it works perfectly well now!
Any other good advice, tutorial to follow in order to make the most out of SL6 is always more than welcome.
Many thanks,
PM
^
bbfuller
 Posted: Jun 15 2011, 03:28 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 46
Joined: 14-April 11









Just as a matter of interest for anyone else coming across this problem.

There are separate "iwl6000g2a" and "iwl6000g2b" packages available in the Fedora base repositories that I assume would do the same job.
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 18 2011, 04:30 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (freddie50 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:41 AM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 14 2011, 09:39 PM)
I would grab the correct .ucode file at intel wireless and copy and paste it into the correct location manually.  Forget the rpm. Then reboot and try it again.


Thank you so much guys it works perfectly well now!
Any other good advice, tutorial to follow in order to make the most out of SL6 is always more than welcome.
Many thanks,


Good to hear! Have a link to the ucode and where exactly you put it (I can figure it out, but what are forums for)? laugh.gif

PS: I'm glad you decided to go with a real man's OS. ewwwwww...LOL (j/k, sounded funny at the time) laugh.gif

SIDENOTE:// That Intel 1030 card is NOT 5GHz capable. I've got it now, but Dell is sending me the Intel 6250 which is 5GHz capable to put in myself. That may not matter to you, just pointing it out in case you might want to swap it.
ENDSIDENOTE://


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
freddie50
 Posted: Jun 18 2011, 08:50 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Member No.: 256
Joined: 8-June 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 18 2011, 05:30 AM)
QUOTE (freddie50 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:41 AM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 14 2011, 09:39 PM)
I would grab the correct .ucode file at intel wireless and copy and paste it into the correct location manually.  Forget the rpm. Then reboot and try it again.


Thank you so much guys it works perfectly well now!
Any other good advice, tutorial to follow in order to make the most out of SL6 is always more than welcome.
Many thanks,


Good to hear! Have a link to the ucode and where exactly you put it (I can figure it out, but what are forums for)? laugh.gif

PS: I'm glad you decided to go with a real man's OS. ewwwwww...LOL (j/k, sounded funny at the time) laugh.gif

SIDENOTE:// That Intel 1030 card is NOT 5GHz capable. I've got it now, but Dell is sending me the Intel 6250 which is 5GHz capable to put in myself. That may not matter to you, just pointing it out in case you might want to swap it.
ENDSIDENOTE://


Thanks for that joutlan
Yes me too I'd rather have the 5GHz capable!
Is it complicated/risky to change it myself?
Have a great weekend!
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 18 2011, 10:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (freddie50 @ Jun 18 2011, 04:50 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 18 2011, 05:30 AM)
QUOTE (freddie50 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:41 AM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 14 2011, 09:39 PM)
I would grab the correct .ucode file at intel wireless and copy and paste it into the correct location manually.  Forget the rpm. Then reboot and try it again.


Thank you so much guys it works perfectly well now!
Any other good advice, tutorial to follow in order to make the most out of SL6 is always more than welcome.
Many thanks,


Good to hear! Have a link to the ucode and where exactly you put it (I can figure it out, but what are forums for)? laugh.gif

PS: I'm glad you decided to go with a real man's OS. ewwwwww...LOL (j/k, sounded funny at the time) laugh.gif

SIDENOTE:// That Intel 1030 card is NOT 5GHz capable. I've got it now, but Dell is sending me the Intel 6250 which is 5GHz capable to put in myself. That may not matter to you, just pointing it out in case you might want to swap it.
ENDSIDENOTE://


Thanks for that joutlan
Yes me too I'd rather have the 5GHz capable!
Is it complicated/risky to change it myself?
Have a great weekend!


No...it's right under the access panel...need a small screwdriver...I use latex gloves because of static. I wear trifocals so hate those small wires, but it's a 5 minute job. They swapped mine no charge...just tell them you weren't aware it wasn't 5ghz capable and you need that. Myself, I have one location that is "only" 5ghz so it wouldn't fly. biggrin.gif

PS: I believe the intel 6250 will use the 6300 driver so no further effort should be necessary when installing SL6. That will fix that bugger! biggrin.gif

Correction: Dell will replace 1030 with 6230. Same intel driver, going after it now.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 22 2011, 03:25 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (bbfuller @ Jun 15 2011, 11:28 AM)
Just as a matter of interest for anyone else coming across this problem.

There are separate "iwl6000g2a" and "iwl6000g2b" packages available in the Fedora base repositories that I assume would do the same job.


Thanks for the package names bbfuller, appreciated! http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif

This appears to be the correct firmware for us HERE. (SL6 specifically) It's not for 1030 and 6230. I'm following my own advice and I grabbed the specific ucode myself.

Update: Wireless is working, but would NOT work until the kernel was upgraded.....odd, hmm...idk.... http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/BangHead1.gif biggrin.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll