Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> New SL kernel for testing
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 2 2011, 09:28 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









From Troy at FNAL per Mail List:

QUOTE
Hello,
The Upstream Vendor (TUV) has released their first updated kernel since 6.1.  It has passed our tests, but we are going to put it into testing for a little bit so that people can try it out.

This kernel might go into the security errata.  But we are going to let everyone test it until at least Wednesday June 8, 2011.  If there aren't any big problems, we will then push it into the security errata area for SL6.

To test or update

SL6
-------

  yum --enablerepo=sl-testing update kernel\*

or you can download rpm's by hand at

http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/testing/i386/kernel/
http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/testing/x86_64/kernel/

kernel-2.6.32-131.2.1.el6

Thanks
Troy Dawson


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Jun 2 2011, 10:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 130
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









Yeah I tried this earlier, but because it updates alot of DRM code and stuff for the Mesa drivers I got a few hard locks because of mismatched graphics drivers, I use the r600 free driver for my radeons.

Lemonzest


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 2 2011, 10:24 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (lemonzest @ Jun 2 2011, 06:18 PM)
Yeah I tried this earlier, but because it updates alot of DRM code and stuff for the Mesa drivers I got a few hard locks because of mismatched graphics drivers, I use the r600 free driver for my radeons.

Lemonzest


I installed Nvidia via KMOD, I'll post back...


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Jun 2 2011, 11:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 130
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 2 2011, 11:24 PM)
QUOTE (lemonzest @ Jun 2 2011, 06:18 PM)
Yeah I tried this earlier, but because it updates alot of DRM code and stuff for the Mesa drivers I got a few hard locks because of mismatched graphics drivers, I use the r600 free driver for my radeons.

Lemonzest


I installed Nvidia via KMOD, I'll post back...


nVidia does not use the DRM/DRI infrastructure so it should be ok.


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 2 2011, 11:45 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (lemonzest @ Jun 2 2011, 07:08 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 2 2011, 11:24 PM)
QUOTE (lemonzest @ Jun 2 2011, 06:18 PM)
Yeah I tried this earlier, but because it updates alot of DRM code and stuff for the Mesa drivers I got a few hard locks because of mismatched graphics drivers, I use the r600 free driver for my radeons.

Lemonzest


I installed Nvidia via KMOD, I'll post back...


nVidia does not use the DRM/DRI infrastructure so it should be ok.


Yep, I knew you were talking about something different....sorry, just posting incompletely...Spoovy and I both have a habit of that.... laugh.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
redman
 Posted: Jun 3 2011, 07:54 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1567
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









I have installed the new kernel and reinstalled the Nvidia driver (from nvidia.com).
No problems here.


--------------------
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 4 2011, 10:20 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I've installed the new kernel per above, and all is well. I have Nvidia installed via Kmod so nothing needed to be done there. biggrin.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll