Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> USB 3.0 support disabled, How do I enable USB 3.0 support ?
falves1
 Posted: May 31 2011, 07:16 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Member No.: 233
Joined: 31-May 11









This version of the kernel 2.6.32-71.29.1.el6.x86_64 is supposed to have support for USB 3.0. But it does ot work. The controller is recognized at some level
lspci | grep -i nec
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller (rev 03)
but there is no support in the kernel for it
lsusb
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 002: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 04f3:0103 Elan Microelectronics Corp.
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 0d62:a100 Darfon Electronics Corp. Optical Mouse
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 05ac:9221 Apple, Inc. 30" Cinema Display
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0bda:8189 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 05ac:912f Apple, Inc. Hub in 30" Cinema Display
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I need to obtain support for USB 3.0 since it will replace a very expensive Direct Attached Storage unit. Does anybody know how to do this? I don't need support for hibernation, if that is a roadblock.
Federico

PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: May 31 2011, 08:29 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1298
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









USB 3.0 support is available, I have a mobo with USB 3.0 (and with SL6 installed on it) so I can confirm it, but I don't have any USB 3.0 device to test it.
Anyway see here:
CODE
# cat /etc/redhat-release
Scientific Linux release 6.0 (Carbon)
# uname -r
2.6.32-71.29.1.el6.x86_64
# lspci|grep -i nec
04:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller (rev 03)
# lsusb
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
And after loading the USB 3.0 kernel module (xhci_hcd):
CODE
# modprobe xhci_hcd
# lsusb
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
You will notice that lsusb now shows an additional entry marked 3.0.

See also:
https://access.redhat.com/kb/docs/DOC-55131


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
falves1
 Posted: May 31 2011, 08:48 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Member No.: 233
Joined: 31-May 11









I made it work that way, but when my computer reboots it does not get loaded. How do I make that the driver does load before any other one in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf or any other file? I have no idea how to alias it or make it load by default.

Yours
Federico
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: May 31 2011, 08:56 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1298
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









This should work:

QUOTE
Kernel modules are usually loaded directly by the facility that requires them, which is given
correct settings in the /etc/modprobe.conf file. However, it is sometimes necessary to explicitly force
the loading of a module at boot time.

Red Hat Enterprise/Centos Linux checks for the existence of the /etc/rc.modules file at boot time, which
contains various commands to load modules. The rc.modules should be used, and not rc.local because
rc.modules is executed earlier in the boot process.

For example, the following commands configure loading of the foo module at boot time (as root):

# echo modprobe fuse >> /etc/rc.modules
# chmod +x /etc/rc.modules

http://www.recital.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=276

The Redhat manual also suggests another way of doing it: link


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: May 31 2011, 11:02 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









If I turn USB 3.0 on my bios, my ports don't work at all....so right now it's disabled to USB 2.0. I'm going to try the above and see what I can do.

Great post...this needs to be addressed imo.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
tux99
 Posted: May 31 2011, 11:24 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1298
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 1 2011, 12:02 AM)
If I turn USB 3.0 on my bios, my ports don't work at all....so right now it's disabled to USB 2.0.  I'm going to try the above and see what I can do.

Great post...this needs to be addressed imo.


What USB 3.0 chip does your mobo use?

If it's the standard NEC one then your USB 3.0 ports should work in SL6.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: May 31 2011, 11:47 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ May 31 2011, 07:24 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 1 2011, 12:02 AM)
If I turn USB 3.0 on my bios, my ports don't work at all....so right now it's disabled to USB 2.0.  I'm going to try the above and see what I can do.

Great post...this needs to be addressed imo.


What USB 3.0 chip does your mobo use?

If it's the standard NEC one then your USB 3.0 ports should work in SL6.


It's NEC on my Dell M6500 Precision Laptop....if I turn it on in the BIOS, my ports become useless to "anything". What do you think? I have no USB 3 devices, so until now it hasn't mattered much to me. I'm packing my laptop now and moving venues 40 miles, I'll work on it when I get there. unsure.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 1 2011, 12:55 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1298
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 1 2011, 12:47 AM)

It's NEC on my Dell M6500 Precision Laptop....if I turn it on in the BIOS, my ports become useless to "anything".  What do you think?  I have no USB 3 devices, so until now it hasn't mattered much to me.  I'm packing my laptop now and moving venues 40 miles, I'll work on it when I get there.  unsure.gif


I can't speak for your case obviously, but if I plug a USB 2.0 device in one of the USB 3.0 ports on my mobo after having done "modprobe xhci_hcd", I can access the USB 2.0 device (tested with a USB DVD burner).

Like I said I don't have USB 3.0 devices so I can't test those, but the USB 3.0 ports are definitely usable at least with USB 2.0 devices.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 4 2011, 10:19 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ May 31 2011, 08:55 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 1 2011, 12:47 AM)

It's NEC on my Dell M6500 Precision Laptop....if I turn it on in the BIOS, my ports become useless to "anything".  What do you think?  I have no USB 3 devices, so until now it hasn't mattered much to me.  I'm packing my laptop now and moving venues 40 miles, I'll work on it when I get there.  unsure.gif


I can't speak for your case obviously, but if I plug a USB 2.0 device in one of the USB 3.0 ports on my mobo after having done "modprobe xhci_hcd", I can access the USB 2.0 device (tested with a USB DVD burner).

Like I said I don't have USB 3.0 devices so I can't test those, but the USB 3.0 ports are definitely usable at least with USB 2.0 devices.


That works me for me too. I have the new kernel btw per the thread in Kernels section. I'm going to reboot and try again with USB 3.0 enabled in the BIOS. Thanks, tux, for that modprobe information. I've rebooted and my USB 3.0 ports still work normally...but I have the new kernel. I wish I would have tested before hand, maybe I'll boot on old one and test it.....http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 4 2011, 11:55 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1298
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 4 2011, 11:19 PM)

That works me for me too.  I have the new kernel btw per the thread in Kernels section.  I'm going to reboot and try again with USB 3.0 enabled in the BIOS.  Thanks, tux, for that modprobe information.  I've rebooted and my USB 3.0 ports still work normally...but I have the new kernel.  I wish I would have tested before hand, maybe I'll boot on old one and test it.....http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


I'm glad it works for you now, too.

To make the kernel module load automatically at boot I created the following mini script according to the offical Redhat docs method linked to earlier:

/etc/sysconfig/modules/usb30.modules
CODE
#!/bin/sh

a=`/usr/sbin/lsusb | /bin/grep -c " 3.0 "`

if [ $a == 0 ]; then
       exec /sbin/modprobe xhci_hcd >/dev/null 2>&1
fi

It checks if the module has already been loaded (using the output of lsusb) and only loads it if it hasn't been loaded yet.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 5 2011, 01:59 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 4 2011, 07:55 PM)
QUOTE (joutlan @ Jun 4 2011, 11:19 PM)

That works me for me too.  I have the new kernel btw per the thread in Kernels section.  I'm going to reboot and try again with USB 3.0 enabled in the BIOS.  Thanks, tux, for that modprobe information.  I've rebooted and my USB 3.0 ports still work normally...but I have the new kernel.  I wish I would have tested before hand, maybe I'll boot on old one and test it.....http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


I'm glad it works for you now, too.

To make the kernel module load automatically at boot I created the following mini script according to the offical Redhat docs method linked to earlier:

/etc/sysconfig/modules/usb30.modules
CODE
#!/bin/sh

a=`/usr/sbin/lsusb | /bin/grep -c " 3.0 "`

if [ $a == 0 ]; then
       exec /sbin/modprobe xhci_hcd >/dev/null 2>&1
fi

It checks if the module has already been loaded (using the output of lsusb) and only loads it if it hasn't been loaded yet.


Yep, it's fine on reboot now without a modification....I just don't know if it's the new kernel or the modprobe command?


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jun 22 2011, 06:38 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I will add to this thread that modprobe xhci_hcd was necessary on my Vostro 3350 13 inch laptop to get USB3 working.

Again, on reboot USB3 was active without modification. Newest SL Kernel as updated.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Jun 23 2011, 05:52 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 559
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









Hi,
as for your Q how to make your system to load module during startup, you can also remake your
/boot/initrd*.img file - this file is responsible for loading initial kernel modules during system bootup.

use 'mkinitrd --with=modulename /boot/initrd*img kernelname"

This is very common technique when you need to preload e.g. filesystem kernel modules, or some special raid modules etc...

cheers,


--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll