Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Shutdown does not physically power-off machine, Shutdown does not physically power-off
henryx
 Posted: May 3 2011, 05:19 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Member No.: 120
Joined: 2-May 11









Hi,
I have a little problem with the shutdown phase with SL 6
The computer to which I refer is a HP notebook pavilion ze4288
After the shutdown, from menu or command line, the system go down completely but the machine does not power down, last two line fro log are:

Halting system
Power Down

At this point I need to power off the pc through the power button.
This is a minor problem but does anyone know how to make that system turns off completely after shutting down?

Thanks

Henry

PM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: May 3 2011, 05:22 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 518
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









Hello,

I believe "shutdown -P" should work. There is also "poweroff"
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: May 3 2011, 05:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









How does your suspend/hibernate work? Take a look at the Dell Precision/Hibernate thread.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
henryx
 Posted: May 3 2011, 07:53 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Member No.: 120
Joined: 2-May 11









Hello,
hibernate (from menu) seem to work, usually do not use it but I tried it and it works.
I tried also shutdown -P, same original situation: log dump the message 'Halting system' and 'Power Down' but the system does not power down.
PM
^
Jcink
 Posted: May 3 2011, 08:05 PM
Quote Post


SLF IRC Team
****

Group: Members
Posts: 241
Member No.: 15
Joined: 10-April 11









Sounds like something is broken with ACPI and the kernel in your setup then. Are you running the latest BIOS from HP for that machine?
PMUsers Website
^
henryx
 Posted: May 4 2011, 08:06 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Member No.: 120
Joined: 2-May 11









Yes, the bios is the latest available.
The installation was done through the live cd.
The problem is strange because it's the first distribution installed on this machine that produces this problem (the last distribution installed was fedora 14 - upgraded from previous version).
I also tried some kernel boot parameter es. 'apm=off' and 'acpi=on', or 'acpi=force' but the problem persist.
PM
^
redman
 Posted: May 4 2011, 10:40 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1564
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Is it possible to install SL6 by official media such as installation dvds or netinstall? It could be related to the LiveCD huh.gif


--------------------
PM
^
henryx
 Posted: May 4 2011, 01:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Member No.: 120
Joined: 2-May 11









I'll try this as soon as possible
Thanks for now
PM
^
irlandes
 Posted: May 4 2011, 03:17 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Member No.: 22
Joined: 11-April 11









I had this problem a few years ago, I can't remember which distro. I had forgotten the commands, there were two, and the other one worked. I suspect the suggested poweroff and shutdown sound right. I had to use the other command to get a true shutdown on my laptop, probably a Dell.
PM
^
henryx
 Posted: May 6 2011, 07:12 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Member No.: 120
Joined: 2-May 11









hello,
I have just finished installing a new setup after trying different kernel parameters and command combination.
The installation was done by network (netinstall) as suggested by redman.
Nothing has changed, the error still exists
I think I'll keep this setup for now waiting for some inspiration or update that solves the problem wink.gif
PM
^
Cross
 Posted: May 17 2011, 09:17 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Member No.: 147
Joined: 10-May 11









I am also having this issue on a Toshiba Satellite A215
It is an odd one... haven't checked BIOS revision yet though.
PMEmail Poster
^
peterlscott
 Posted: Dec 17 2012, 10:15 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Member No.: 217
Joined: 27-May 11









QUOTE (henryx @ May 3 2011, 09:19 AM)
Hi,
I have a little problem with the shutdown phase with SL 6
The computer to which I refer is a HP notebook pavilion ze4288
After the shutdown, from menu or command line, the system go down completely but the machine does not power down, last two line fro log are:

Halting system
Power Down

At this point I need to power off the pc through the power button.
This is a minor problem but does anyone know how to make that system turns off completely after shutting down?

Thanks

Henry


Hi Henry,

Did you ever solve this problem?
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Dec 17 2012, 10:40 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1109
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I've seen this problem just after some system updates. But, after a reboot, the problem disappears.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
peterlscott
 Posted: Dec 17 2012, 10:50 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Member No.: 217
Joined: 27-May 11









QUOTE (henryx @ May 3 2011, 09:19 AM)
Hi,
I have a little problem with the shutdown phase with SL 6
The computer to which I refer is a HP notebook pavilion ze4288
After the shutdown, from menu or command line, the system go down completely but the machine does not power down, last two line fro log are:

Halting system
Power Down

At this point I need to power off the pc through the power button.
This is a minor problem but does anyone know how to make that system turns off completely after shutting down?

Thanks

Henry


Hi Henry (and other commenters):

Did you ever solve this problem? I am having a similar problem with SL 6.x (both 6.0 and 6.3) on a desktop, and although this misbehavior did not happen until the past few weeks, it is happening now, every time I shut down the machine.

The output of uname -a:

:Linux misty.localdomain 2.6.32-279.14.1.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Nov 6 11:21:14 CST 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

My motherboard is Asus M4A79XTD EVO

I tried shutdown, shutdown -P now, poweroff, poweroff -P, and none work, whether I issue the command as user or as root, or using the gnome buttons, even from the login window. The last lines that appear on the monitor are these:

init: Re-executing /sbin/init
Halting system...
System halted.

These words remain on the monitor until I VERY BRIEFLY touch the power button, after which the machine turns off and the monitor screen goes to blank.

I tried these experiments:

1. From a ubuntu live CD, shutdown turns off the machine, as it should.

2. From a Scientific Linux 6.3 Live CD I get the same behavior as with my installed desktop iso, i.e., it does not work.

3. From a Fedora-17 Live CD it also does not work, but the monitor screen shows additional messages:

...
Could not delete loopback /dev/loop4: Device or resource busy
Could not delete loopback /dev/loop3: Device or resource busy
Could not delete loopback /dev/loop2: Device or resource busy
Not all loop devices detached, 3 left
Detaching DM devices.
Not all DM devices detached, 1 left
(the above sequence is then repeated, then:)
Cannot finalize remaining file systems and devices, trying to kill remaining processes.
Detaching loop devices.
(then repeats the first six lines above, then:)
Cannot finalize remaining file systems and devices, giving up.
[ 530.283974] System halted.

What should I make of all this? I should perhaps note that when I installed SL 6.3 I had to specify acpi=off to get it to continue, but after installation I did not have to say anything about acpi. Also to get any of the live CDs to work I had to specify acpi=off. (Could this be at all relevant?)

Well this is not a serious problem...just annoying. Any thoughts will be much appreciated.

Peter

PMEmail Poster
^
peterlscott
 Posted: Jan 3 2013, 01:19 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Member No.: 217
Joined: 27-May 11









QUOTE (henryx @ May 3 2011, 09:19 AM)
Hi,
I have a little problem with the shutdown phase with SL 6
The computer to which I refer is a HP notebook pavilion ze4288
After the shutdown, from menu or command line, the system go down completely but the machine does not power down, last two line fro log are:

Halting system
Power Down

At this point I need to power off the pc through the power button.
This is a minor problem but does anyone know how to make that system turns off completely after shutting down?

Thanks

Henry


OK I solved this problem for myself.

It was a graphics driver problem, that I discovered when doing a fresh install of SL 6.3 on an extra hard drive, choosing "Install system with basic video driver" from the bootup screen. This produces, in the kernel line for the grub.conf, the command "nomodeset", and the booting of this installation did not require "acpi=off" in that line. This installation also powered off successfully.

Then on my older installation I tried installing, from the elrepo repo, "kmod-nvidia", as redman described long ago. This produced (among other things) the commands "nouveau-modeset=0" and "rdblacklist=nouveau" in the kernel line of grub.conf. This allowed me to erase the "acpi=off", and now it both boots and powers off successfully.

Thanks to all,

Peter
PMEmail Poster
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll