Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Enabling a bit of eye candy in KDE borks my setup
mihi
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 06:08 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12










I have both KDE and Gnome desktops on my system but prefer and use KDE.

However I have been unable to get Desktop Effects to work and was fiddling about in the "Advanced" section when the screen suddenly went black and unresponsive. When I tried to restart the splash screen appeared and disappeared six orseven times then ending up with a blank screen again.

I pressed ctrl/alt/fn2, startx and that put me in the Gnome desktop. Now I am unable to get back to KDE. As I have both desktops tweaked the way I want them I would like to avoid having to reinstall.

Any advice gratefully received.
Maurice




--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 08:26 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









I have tried to use the KDE4 included in EL6 briefly but I found it to be very buggy. This isn't really a surprise as the version included in EL6 is 4.3.4 which was known at the time it was released to not be very stable yet, KDE4 started to become usable around version 4.5 (only to get worse and worse after 4.6 once they added akonadi+nepomuk and that other nonsense).

I would recommend you to try out TDE which is the continuation of KDE3.5.10. It's available prepackaged for EL6 compatible distros. See here how to install it:
http://trinitydesktop.org/installation.php#redhat


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 11:16 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









QUOTE (tux99 @ Apr 29 2012, 06:56 PM)
I have tried to use the KDE4 included in EL6 briefly but I found it to be very buggy. This isn't really a surprise as the version included in EL6 is 4.3.4 which was known at the time it was released to not be very stable yet, KDE4 started to become usable around version 4.5 (only to get worse and worse after 4.6 once they added akonadi+nepomuk and that other nonsense).

I would recommend you to try out TDE which is the continuation of KDE3.5.10. It's available prepackaged for EL6 compatible distros. See here how to install it:
http://trinitydesktop.org/installation.php#redhat


Thanks tux - I tried it. The download went OK but the install gave various errors - metadata file not matching checksum, Error 416 etc. It tried about 6 mirrors before it gave up. I gave it another try but got the same response.

Your summing up of kde was a bit disappointing - I've used it on another distro since the earlier versions and never had much trouble with it - till now.

I suppose I should remove it? If so - how would I do it? Or should I try it again until it, hopefully, does install properly?


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 11:23 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 29 2012, 01:16 PM)
Thanks tux - I tried it. The download went OK but the install gave various errors - metadata file not matching checksum, Error 416 etc. It tried about 6 mirrors before it gave up. I gave it another try but got the same response.

That's weird, it worked fine when I installed it several months ago (I think it was back in November or December last year).

QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 29 2012, 01:16 PM)
Your summing up of kde was a bit disappointing - I've used it on another distro since the earlier version and never had much trouble with it - till now.

Well that's my experience, I'm sure there are also plenty people who are perfectly happy with KDE4.

QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 29 2012, 01:16 PM)
| suppose I should remove it? If so - how would I do it? Or should I try it again until it, hopefully, does install properly?


You could try deleting the .kde folder (and all it's contents) in your home directory ( rm -rf ~/.kde ), that' where your custom kde config is stored, and then try reconfiguring it again. At least that way you don't need to reinstall the whole system and you keep all your Gnome customizations.


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 30 2012, 02:58 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









QUOTE
QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 29 2012, 01:16 PM)
| suppose I should remove it? If so - how would I do it? Or should I try it again until it, hopefully, does install properly?


You could try deleting the .kde folder (and all it's contents) in your home directory ( rm -rf ~/.kde ), that' where your custom kde config is stored, and then try reconfiguring it again. At least that way you don't need to reinstall the whole system and you keep all your Gnome customizations.


Too late tux. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/BangHead1.gif I reinstalled before I checked your post. Ah well - I'll try Trinity again, it might work this time'


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 30 2012, 04:47 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









I downloaded TDE again and this time it worked and, when I rebooted, it showed up on the bottom panel along with Gnome. I clicked its button and got to the TDE blue splash screen but it failed to boot. It got to the second item on the screen then flashed off and returned me to the login screen again. I tried it a number of times but no go.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Apr 30 2012, 05:27 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 30 2012, 06:47 AM)
I downloaded TDE again and this time it worked and, when I rebooted, it showed up on the bottom panel along with Gnome. I clicked its button and got to the TDE blue splash screen but it failed to boot. It got to the second item on the screen then flashed off and returned me to the login screen again. I tried it a number of times but no go.


I'm sorry to hear that, unfortunately I don't know how to debug TDE, I fortunately never had to do that.
If you want to debug this issue with TDE it's probably best if you ask the TDE guys. They have a user mailing list where you could post your problem and then hopefully they will be able to help you:
http://trinitydesktop.org/mailinglist.php


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 30 2012, 06:37 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









QUOTE (tux99 @ Apr 30 2012, 03:57 PM)
QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 30 2012, 06:47 AM)
I downloaded TDE again and this time it worked and, when I rebooted, it showed up on the bottom panel along with Gnome. I clicked its button and got to the TDE blue splash screen but it failed to boot. It got to the second item on the screen then flashed off and returned me to the login screen again. I tried it a number of times but no go.


I'm sorry to hear that, unfortunately I don't know how to debug TDE, I fortunately never had to do that.
If you want to debug this issue with TDE it's probably best if you ask the TDE guys. They have a user mailing list where you could post your problem and then hopefully they will be able to help you:
http://trinitydesktop.org/mailinglist.php



I got a bit further this time - it flashed quickly through the seven items on the splash screen then the TDE desktop actually appeared but then immediately disappeared and I was back at the login screen.

Next time I might just get through. But if not then I'll do as you suggest and hae a look at the TDE site.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: May 1 2012, 01:48 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12










Tried twice but was unable to subscribe or contact the mailing list at TDE - got a couple of "failed messages". Seems they don't want to know about problems or bugs.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: May 1 2012, 06:15 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (mihi @ May 1 2012, 03:48 AM)
Tried twice but was unable to subscribe or contact the mailing list at TDE - got a couple of "failed messages". Seems they don't want to know about problems or bugs.


Weird, maybe anti-spam protection that isn't working correctly. I use a nntp reader (Seamonkey) to read and post to many mailing lists via news.gmane.org including the TDE lists and never had problems. By posting via gmane I don't even have to subscribe to the lists I post to.

On news.gmane.org the newsgroup related to the TDE-users list is:
gmane.comp.desktop.trinity.user


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: May 2 2012, 02:38 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









I think I'll pass with TDE and stick to Gnome - there are too many bug reports on their website to give me any confidence in using it. Thanks for all your help though.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: May 9 2012, 06:29 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









Well - I finally managed to get it to work. I installed Centos but it was unable to read NTFS. After some difficulties with the start menu I finally mamaged to get back into SL and - lo and behold - there was TDE. I'm configuring it right now but can't find any way of increasing font sizes. With somewhat less than the best eyesight I really have to have larger text than normal. But the means must be there somewhere?


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: May 9 2012, 06:59 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









Found it. rolleyes.gif

Actually I like this TDE tux. It seems far better than KDE -.. many thanks for putting me on to it


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: May 9 2012, 02:11 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (mihi @ May 9 2012, 08:59 AM)

Actually I like this TDE tux. It seems far better than KDE -.. many thanks for putting me on to it

You are welcome, I'm glad it worked out eventually!


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: May 10 2012, 06:09 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









QUOTE (tux99 @ May 10 2012, 12:41 AM)
QUOTE (mihi @ May 9 2012, 08:59 AM)

Actually I like this TDE tux. It seems far better than KDE -.. many thanks for putting me on to it

You are welcome, I'm glad it worked out eventually!


One odd little thing - I can't shut down rolleyes.gif All I can do is log myself out. To shutdown I have to use the console. It must be somewhere?


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: May 10 2012, 07:39 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1219
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (mihi @ May 10 2012, 08:09 AM)
One odd little thing - I can't shut down rolleyes.gif  All I can do is log myself out. To shutdown I have to use the console. It must be somewhere?


I noticed that too, I think it's a packaging bug (I think the TDE session thinks it was started by 'startx' as opposed to 'kdm'), but I never bothered to report it as I usually just type 'shutdown' in a konsole anyway.

You might want to report it to Francois Andriot who is the packager for EL6: francois.andriot [ at ] free.fr


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll