Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Problem with Yum Repos
mihi
 Posted: Apr 23 2012, 04:53 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12










When I click on Yum Repos in Add/Remove software I get

No Package cache is available
The Package list needs to be rebuilt.
This should have been done by the backend automatically

More details
Failed to get package sack: cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository nux-libreoffice testing. Please verify its path and try again

This means little or nothing to me. Can someone tell me what to do about it?

Thank you


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Apr 23 2012, 08:21 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 144
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









Wish I could help, but I use yum from a terminal, by the time packagekit has done all its crap, I've already done what I needed to do!, Packagekit is slow sad.gif and this is from someone with a 4Ghz Hex Core Phenom II with 16GB Ram :S


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 23 2012, 09:53 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









Thanks for the reply lemonzest.

I use yum in a terminal too - at least am trying to, but keep getting the 'repo not found 404 error' and don't know how to fix it. I have a post in the Software forum about it.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
toracat
 Posted: Apr 23 2012, 06:24 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11









I just spoke with the maintainer (Nuxro) of the LibreOffice repo. There are two things (advantages) you may want to consider about using this repo.

One is that, if you download and install LibreOffice directly from their website, it is your responsibility to keep it up to date. Quoting Nuxro, "I'll struggle to keep both repos up to date, but of course no promises smile.gif ).

The other is that there is an expectation that TUV 6.3 (SL 6.3) will ship LO 3.4.5. When/if that happens, "it should gracefuly upgrade my packages (Nuxro)".


--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
toracat
 Posted: Apr 23 2012, 06:26 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11









Err, pardon me. I meant to post a followup in your other thread (re: LibreOffice). ohmy.gif

this one


--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 24 2012, 01:03 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









QUOTE (toracat @ Apr 24 2012, 04:54 AM)
I just spoke with the maintainer (Nuxro) of the LibreOffice repo. There are two things (advantages) you may want to consider about using this repo.

One is that, if you download and install LibreOffice directly from their website, it is your responsibility to keep it up to date.  Quoting Nuxro, "I'll struggle to keep both repos up to date, but of course no promises  smile.gif  ).

The other is that there is an expectation that TUV 6.3 (SL 6.3) will ship LO 3.4.5. When/if that happens, "it should gracefuly upgrade my packages (Nuxro)".


Thanks toracat. That's helpful.


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 24 2012, 06:19 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 2006
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (toracat @ Apr 23 2012, 08:24 PM)
One is that, if you download and install LibreOffice directly from their website, it is your responsibility to keep it up to date.

This is a valid reason and I agree on that.

Fortunately we are talking about a piece of software where the NEED to be as current as possible is less important.
It is just an office-suite, not an important package like the kernel or glibc to name some.
So, if you miss the latest update, there is no man overboard wink.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL7 BETA x86_64 + MATE
PMEmail Poster
^
mihi
 Posted: Apr 26 2012, 10:23 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Member No.: 1471
Joined: 16-April 12









Thanks for all the replies fellas but I've reinstalled and am happy enough with Open Office until Libre Office arrives in the repos.

mihi


--------------------
Custom built Desktop, Intel 06600 cpu Quadcore, DG33 m/brd, 4gb ram, nVidia8600GT - 512mb g/card, 22" AOC lcd, Samsung 500gb sata hdd.
Triple booting with Centos andWindows XP
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 26 2012, 10:56 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 2006
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
... until Libre Office arrives in the repos.

LibreOffice is not included in RHEL6 and will not get in.
Perhaps that Red Hat will start using it with RHEL7?
That means that SL6 will not get LibreOffice unless some 3rd party repo will offer it.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL7 BETA x86_64 + MATE
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: Apr 26 2012, 01:25 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1297
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (redman @ Apr 26 2012, 12:56 PM)
QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
... until Libre Office arrives in the repos.

LibreOffice is not included in RHEL6 and will not get in.


LibreOffice 3.4.5.2 is included in RHEL 6.3 beta!


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 05:56 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 2006
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Apr 26 2012, 03:25 PM)
QUOTE (redman @ Apr 26 2012, 12:56 PM)
QUOTE (mihi @ Apr 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
... until Libre Office arrives in the repos.

LibreOffice is not included in RHEL6 and will not get in.


LibreOffice 3.4.5.2 is included in RHEL 6.3 beta!

I'm really astounded ... apparently a new road they're following. Until now they never never changed software (package a -> package cool.gif during point releases (6.0 -> 6.1 -> 6.2 etc.). The only exception had been Firefox/Thunderbird and OpenOffice where they upgraded to the latest version because it enhances the (corporate) user work experience. The fact that they moving from OpenOffice to LibreOffice might be related to the fact that Fedora already has LibreOffice combined?

Anyway, glad to be wrong on this subject.
Good to see LibreOffice making its way into RHEL http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL7 BETA x86_64 + MATE
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 07:49 AM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1297
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (redman @ Apr 27 2012, 07:56 AM)
The fact that they moving from OpenOffice to LibreOffice might be related to the fact that Fedora already has LibreOffice combined?


I think the reason is that supporting an outdated and basically almost dead (upstream) OO for the next 8 years with security fixes (not to mention other bug fixes) would have been way too much work. Also the switch from OO to LO isn't really a switch of software packages as LO is a fork of OO and therefore simply a newer version of OO with a different name.

Anyway I'm glad about this too! smile.gif


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 04:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Apr 26 2012, 03:25 PM)
LibreOffice 3.4.5.2 is included in RHEL 6.3 beta!

QUOTE (redman)
I'm really astounded ... apparently a new road they're following. Until now they never never changed software (package a -> package cool.gif during point releases (6.0 -> 6.1 -> 6.2 etc.). The only exception had been Firefox/Thunderbird and OpenOffice where they upgraded to the latest version because it enhances the (corporate) user work experience. The fact that they moving from OpenOffice to LibreOffice might be related to the fact that Fedora already has LibreOffice combined?

Anyway, glad to be wrong on this subject.
Good to see LibreOffice making its way into RHEL  http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


That's nice, but I am already on 3.5.2 so using the SL 6.3 version would mean a downgrade.

PM
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Apr 28 2012, 05:50 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 144
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









QUOTE (U308 @ Apr 27 2012, 05:08 PM)

That's nice, but I am already on 3.5.2 so using the SL 6.3 version would mean a downgrade.


Thats nice, but I am already on 3.5.3 RC2 so using 3.5.2 version would mean a downgrade wub.gif http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
Nathan
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 09:12 AM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 288
Member No.: 928
Joined: 15-October 11









What do updates for office suites add anyway? Trivial bug fixes?
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll