Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> How to enable repositories
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 11 2012, 07:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









Hello,

I don't know many commands of Linux so I don't know how to enable repositories
If I ask this it is because I have a problem with yum

CODE
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: rpmfusion-free. Please verify its path and try again


and I think it comes form there:

CODE
rpmfusion-free                           RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. enabled:     0
rpmfusion-free-debuginfo                 RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide                   RPM Fusion for Fedora Ra disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide-debuginfo         RPM Fusion for Fedora Ra disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide-source            RPM Fusion for Fedora Ra disabled
rpmfusion-free-source                    RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates                   RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. enabled:     0
rpmfusion-free-updates-debuginfo         RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-source            RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing           RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing-source    RPM Fusion for Fedora 6. disabled


Thank you in advance
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 11 2012, 10:32 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1402
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Based on the information you posted things seem to configured be fine.
You have the "rpmfusion-free" repo enabled.
Please try "yum clean all" and try again to install the desired package.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 11 2012, 11:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









CODE
[root@ISENMIC-EU0I8NA ~]# yum clean all
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Cleaning repos: adobe-linux-x86_64 atrpms elrepo epel google-chrome
             : linuxtech-release rpmfusion-free rpmfusion-free-updates sl
             : sl-livecd-extra sl-security
Cleaning up Everything
[root@ISENMIC-EU0I8NA ~]# yum search alsa
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-x86_64                                       |  951 B     00:00    
adobe-linux-x86_64/primary                               | 1.2 kB     00:00    
adobe-linux-x86_64                                                          2/2
atrpms                                                   | 3.5 kB     00:00    
atrpms/primary_db                                        | 1.3 MB     00:06    
elrepo                                                   | 1.9 kB     00:00    
elrepo/primary_db                                        | 456 kB     00:01    
epel/metalink                                            |  16 kB     00:00    
epel                                                     | 4.0 kB     00:00    
epel/primary_db                                          | 4.3 MB     00:14    
google-chrome                                            |  951 B     00:00    
google-chrome/primary                                    | 1.4 kB     00:00    
google-chrome                                                               3/3
linuxtech-release                                        | 1.3 kB     00:00    
linuxtech-release/primary                                | 160 kB     00:00    
linuxtech-release                                                       509/509
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: rpmfusion-free. Please verify its path and try again
[isen@ISENMIC-EU0I8NA ~]$ locate repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/adobe-linux-x86_64/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/atrpms/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/atrpms-testing/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/elrepo/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/epel/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/google-chrome/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/linuxtech-release/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/linuxtech-testing/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/livecd-extra/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/rpmforge/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/sl/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/sl-livecd-extra/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/sl-security/repomd.xml
/var/cache/yum/x86_64/6.1/tejas-barot-vlc/repomd.xml


Apparently the repomd.xml for rpmfusion-free is missing. Where can I get a new one ?
Is it dangerous to uninstall a repository and reinstall it ? (also how to do it please)

Thanks
PM
^
joka
 Posted: Apr 11 2012, 05:30 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 168
Member No.: 107
Joined: 28-April 11









Rpmfusion has only some packages in its updates-testing repos. The other ones are not accessible.
I would recommend to disable all rpmfusion repos or to remove the rpmfusion-release package.
Yum requires that all enabled repos have to be accessible.
PM
^
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 11 2012, 08:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









Thank you it works.

Can you tell me how to disable this repo for good ?
Because it only works when I write "--disablerepo=rpmfusion-free*"

Or better how to reinstall the repository ?
PM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Apr 12 2012, 02:14 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 480
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









Hi pieniValkoinenHattu,

The repo files are located in the /etc/yum.repos.d/ directory. Each file may have multiple repos. You can disable a repo by editing its .repo file and changing:
CODE
enabled=1

to
CODE
enabled=0

1 being on and 0 being off.

Hope this helps

Moved from How-to's / manuals / instructional manuals to Installation and setup support

This post has been edited by AndrewSerk: Apr 12 2012, 02:27 AM
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll