> Things to do after a fresh install, What to do after installing a new SL
makhlaghi
 Posted: Apr 5 2012, 01:35 AM
Quote Post

SLF Newbie

Group: Members
Member No.: 669

Hi everyone,
It is about one year I have totally transfered to Linux and about 6 months that I have moved to Scientific Linux; In other words I am a beginner! I had made notes of the necessary things I needed after each install of Linux, recently I thought of placing my notes on my webpage so other new commers to linux can use it: Since I think such a page would have really helped me the first day I installed Linux. This is the webpage:
http://astr.tohoku.ac.jp/~akhlaghi/newlinux.html

Since most of the people here are by far much more experienced than me, I would be most grateful to any one reading this topic to have a look at my notes and advise me on any possible inconsistencies or problems in my explanations or better ways to express what I have said that can help a new commer to Scientific Linux.

Thanks...
PMEmail Poster
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 5 2012, 10:52 AM
Quote Post

SLF Admin

Group: Admins
Member No.: 2

Every reaction you will get here is subject to personal choices.
That means that everyone needs to decide for themselves what to do.
They are suggestions and subject to discussion wink.gif

For myself, things I do when I do a clean/fresh installation (with Gnome) on a desktop computer are:
1) remove yum-autoupdate
2) install gconf-editor and configure nautilus to always use the same window (instead of opening dozens of them):
conf-editor -> apps -> nautilus -> preferences -> always_use_browser (check mark).
3) Add the "show desktop" icon bottom left of the screen.

All the rest is personal choice by installing/remove packages.

Servers is a different story because things depend of what you want to do with it.

--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files