scientificlinuxforum.org QR code
Scientific Linux Forum.org



Pages: (2) 1 2  ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Install the nvidia driver in SL6
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 29 2012, 06:44 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









It works perfectly!

Thank you very much !
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Aug 15 2012, 05:35 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I've finally got SL 6.3 x64 on my new Precision m6600 with a Quadro 4000m vid card. I was getting some very strange screen flickering even after running nvidia-settings as root, etc.....I used the blob for years. So I went back to Nouveau (never thought I'd say that!) smile.gif

Anyone else have an issue? I did try a reinstall.

Also, any new posts on codec installations (I updated my post on multimedia installation in "Software and Applications)?

thanks


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 16 2012, 09:02 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1983
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Aug 15 2012, 07:35 PM)
IAnyone else have an issue?  I did try a reinstall.

No problems here. I did upgrade several systems from 6.2 to 6.3, including one fresh install. All machines using the latest 304.37 Nvidia driver (from Nvidia itself).

The only graphical "issue" I might have found is a transparant menu from the flash player after installing the latest flash-plugin (11.2.202.238). But since it's not always present (not on youtube, only on certain online flash-players) I'm not certain it is Nvidia related (which happened in the past with certain Nvidia drivers and certain flash-plugins).


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Aug 16 2012, 09:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I'll install the driver direct from Nvidia and see. Thanks Patrick!! biggrin.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 17 2012, 02:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1983
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Aug 16 2012, 11:18 PM)
I'll install the driver direct from Nvidia and see.  Thanks Patrick!!  biggrin.gif


You need to add "rdblacklist=nouveau" to the kernel parameters in grub.
And reinstall the driver with every new kernel.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Aug 20 2012, 05:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 528
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









QUOTE
And reinstall the driver with every new kernel.


I noticed that with the new Nvidia driver it offers to register the driver with DKMS so you don't have to manually reinstall it after a kernel upgrade.

I tried it and it has worked well so far.

Andrew
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Aug 21 2012, 12:16 AM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Aug 20 2012, 01:08 PM)
QUOTE
And reinstall the driver with every new kernel.


I noticed that with the new Nvidia driver it offers to register the driver with DKMS so you don't have to manually reinstall it after a kernel upgrade.

I tried it and it has worked well so far.

Andrew


Thanks for the info....I'm getting ready to install that one.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 21 2012, 10:44 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1983
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Aug 20 2012, 07:08 PM)
I noticed that with the new  Nvidia driver it offers to register the driver with DKMS so you don't have to manually reinstall it after a kernel upgrade.

I tried it and it has worked well so far.

That's new to me, thanks for mentioning it!
Any info on this?


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Aug 21 2012, 03:22 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 528
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









QUOTE
Any info on this?


Not really, but I can share my experience.

I was running kernel-3.5.2-2.x86_64 on this box and thought I would give the kernel-2.6.32-279.5.1.el6.x86_64 a try after having a local issue with 3.5.2-2. I already had DKMS installed and running when I installed kernel-2.6.32-279.5.1... After installing kernel-2.6.32-279.5.1 I ran "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-304.37.run" as root from runlevel 3 and during the question section of NVIDIA script it asked if I wanted to register NVIDIA with DKMS. I choose yes and proceeded with the "normal" NVIDIA install.

After the NVIDIA install I wanted to know if it would rebuild the kernel module for already installed kernels, so I booted to a previously installed kernel and the kernel module was not rebuilt. I then made some changes to menuconfig for kernel- 3.5.2-2 (adding support for some local hardware) rebuilt and installed the kernel. I then rebooted to the new 3.5.2-2 kernel that I had just built and DKMS rebuilt the kernel module for NVIDIA without any interaction from me.

This "new" feature will save a few steps after the installation of a new kernel.
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 21 2012, 08:36 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1983
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Aug 21 2012, 05:22 PM)
This "new" feature will save a few steps after the installation of a new kernel.

It sure does ... thanks for the info.
Next time a new kernel shows up I will surely try this feature http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
joutlan
 Posted: Aug 21 2012, 11:45 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (redman @ Aug 21 2012, 04:36 PM)
QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Aug 21 2012, 05:22 PM)
This "new" feature will save a few steps after the installation of a new kernel.

It sure does ... thanks for the info.
Next time a new kernel shows up I will surely try this feature http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif


Same here...this was news to me also...but the way it should be anyway laugh.gif


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Aug 22 2012, 01:44 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 528
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









CODE
but the way it should be anyway  


+1 wink.gif
PM
^
feedmebits
 Posted: Aug 23 2012, 07:25 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 92
Member No.: 953
Joined: 20-October 11









QUOTE (redman @ Apr 8 2011, 01:12 PM)
Originally posted by joutlan:

Installing can be done by using the ElRepo repositories.

CODE
#yum install kmod-nvidia


reboot.  Disable Repositories above.

EASIER: do this:

CODE
yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia


this will temporarily enable the required repo.  You shouldn't have to rebuild the Nvidia-driver again even after kernel updates.



This will be first time installing SL with an nvidia card. Does the above method work for all nvidia cards?

And the other method you mentioned installing the nvidia driver, do you mean by downloading the nvidia-driver_x86)64.run file from the nvidia download site?


--------------------
user posted image
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 23 2012, 10:53 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1983
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (feedmebits @ Aug 23 2012, 09:25 AM)
This will be first time installing SL with an nvidia card. Does the above method work for all nvidia cards?

No, depending on how old the card is you might need the legacy-driver.
With current cards it should work.

QUOTE (feedmebits @ Aug 23 2012, 09:25 AM)
And the other method you mentioned  installing the nvidia driver, do you mean by downloading the nvidia-driver_x86)64.run file from the nvidia download site?

Correct.
And since it doesn't require enabling a(nother) 3rd party repo it's my favorite option (please read this and the rest of this topic to get an idea of repo problems you could be facing).


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos - How to post images - How to post large text / config files

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL7.0 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, RHEL7 RC x86_64
PMEmail Poster
^
feedmebits
 Posted: Aug 23 2012, 11:03 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 92
Member No.: 953
Joined: 20-October 11









I read the rest of the article and it's clear to me now. thanks for the reply!


--------------------
user posted image
PM
^
Backslash
 Posted: Jan 25 2013, 07:15 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 9
Member No.: 2138
Joined: 14-December 12









QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Aug 21 2012, 03:08 AM)
QUOTE
And reinstall the driver with every new kernel.


I noticed that with the new Nvidia driver it offers to register the driver with DKMS so you don't have to manually reinstall it after a kernel upgrade.

I tried it and it has worked well so far.

Andrew


Here is a "how to" for a clean installation with DKMS
http://scientificlinuxforum.org/index.php?showtopic=2173
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Jan 25 2013, 11:23 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1185
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Thanks, BackSlash, for the guide!


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteIntegrity Messenger IM
^
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic OptionsPages: (2) 1 2  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll