Scientific Linux Forum.org



Pages: (3) 1 2 3  ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Install the nvidia driver in SL6
redman
 Posted: Apr 8 2011, 11:12 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan)
Installing can be done by using the ElRepo repositories.

CODE
#yum install kmod-nvidia


reboot.  Disable Repositories above.

EASIER: do this:

CODE
yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia


this will temporarily enable the required repo.  You shouldn't have to rebuild the Nvidia-driver again even after kernel updates.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Apr 8 2011, 11:13 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Or as an alternative, you could use the driver from Nvidia.

In that case, you need to follow some steps:
1) install the devel-kernel
2) disable the nouveau driver by adding the following as boot parameter to grub: rdblacklist=nouveau
3) create the file "nvidia-installer-disable-nouveau.conf" in /etc/modprobe.d with these lines:
CODE
blacklist nouveau
options nouveau modeset=0

3) reboot the system in runlevel 3
4) run the installer
5) reboot

This approach has one drawback, every time you install a new kernel, you need to reinstall the driver.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Apr 8 2011, 07:54 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









Thanks redman, helpful.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
jusbug
 Posted: May 16 2011, 11:48 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 178
Joined: 15-May 11









QUOTE (redman @ Apr 8 2011, 11:13 AM)
Or as an alternative, you could use the driver from Nvidia.

In that case, you need to follow some steps:
1) install the devel-kernel
2) disable the nouveau driver by adding the following as boot parameter to grub: rdblacklist=nouveau
3) create the file "nvidia-installer-disable-nouveau.conf" in /etc/modprobe.d with these lines:
CODE
blacklist nouveau
options nouveau modeset=0

3) reboot the system in runlevel 3
4) run the installer
5) reboot

This approach has one drawback, every time you install a new kernel, you need to reinstall the driver.



during the instalation i got this error message "unable to perform the runtime configuration check for library libGL.so.1 (/usr/lib/libGL.so.185.18.36..."

and then after a reboot, everything is normal until the login screen, it goes black.
PM
^
Jessica_Lily
 Posted: May 16 2011, 12:38 PM
Quote Post


SLF IRC Team
**

Group: Members
Posts: 49
Member No.: 180
Joined: 15-May 11









Maybe look at dmesg? By any chance is your xorg config setup to not use nvidia stuff? I'm no good with graphics but these are the things i'd be checking first.

Chroot into your install and have a poke around, see if you can find in logs the reason why it didn't work?
PMUsers Website
^
redman
 Posted: May 16 2011, 04:34 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









You could remove the nvidia-installer-disable-nouveau.conf file and retry.
Normally the installer would create this file.
Perhaps by creating it yourself it confused the installer?

You downloaded the lastest driver for your videocard?
And you installed the required apps like gcc and the devel-kernel?


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: May 16 2011, 05:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Founder
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 909
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (jusbug @ May 16 2011, 07:48 AM)
QUOTE (redman @ Apr 8 2011, 11:13 AM)
Or as an alternative, you could use the driver from Nvidia.

In that case, you need to follow some steps:
1) install the devel-kernel
2) disable the nouveau driver by adding the following as boot parameter to grub: rdblacklist=nouveau
3) create the file "nvidia-installer-disable-nouveau.conf" in /etc/modprobe.d with these lines:
CODE
blacklist nouveau
options nouveau modeset=0

3) reboot the system in runlevel 3
4) run the installer
5) reboot

This approach has one drawback, every time you install a new kernel, you need to reinstall the driver.



during the instalation i got this error message "unable to perform the runtime configuration check for library libGL.so.1 (/usr/lib/libGL.so.185.18.36..."

and then after a reboot, everything is normal until the login screen, it goes black.


You've got the dreaded "no screens found" when starting X. I would install via the first option in this thread. It will make life easier when you do a kernel update as you won't have to rebuild the Nvidia module every time.


--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
jusbug
 Posted: May 18 2011, 11:00 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 178
Joined: 15-May 11









thanks guys for your help, but my problem was (i'm not sure) the driver i was trying to install wasn't compatible with the xorg-server.
maybe you're going to ask me why i wanted that driver specifically, it's because my card is quadro 570 which now is "legacy", but that driver give me a better performance and less craches with centos 5.

but installing the latest driver 270.XXX and the legacy 173.XXX following the procedure mentioned above was flawless.

big thanks guys.
PM
^
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 27 2011, 01:14 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









hello
sorry for the inconvenience wanted to know how I can the following error solution
install kernel-devel and follow the steps but I still jump this error
solution as I can?
try these steps but I do not work.
http://linuxsoftwareblog.com/?p=232&cpage=3#comment-24
rpmfusion as I can uninstall and reinstall them?
thanks
85
# yum install kmod-nvidia
Loaded plugins: auto-update-debuginfo, downloadonly, fastestmirror, filter-data,
: fs-snapshot, keys, kmdl, list-data, local, protect-packages,
: protectbase, refresh-packagekit, remove-with-leaves
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* epel: mirror.symnds.com
* rpmforge: ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de
* sl: ftp.scientificlinux.org
* sl-security: ftp.scientificlinux.org
* sl6x: ftp.scientificlinux.org
* sl6x-security: ftp.scientificlinux.org
Skipping filters plugin, no data
0 packages excluded due to repository protections
Setting up Install Process
No package kmod-nvidia available.
Error: Nothing to do
PMEmail Poster
^
U308
 Posted: Jun 28 2011, 08:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Advocate
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 481
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia

As per redman's post - the first one in this thread.
PM
^
Mart_uncho
 Posted: Jun 28 2011, 01:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Member No.: 327
Joined: 21-June 11









hello
thanks for the help you properly install it!
question I have to have improvements in graphics? because when I minimize the windows are small squares to be minimized is so SL6?
thanks
PMEmail Poster
^
zatak
 Posted: Jul 27 2011, 04:32 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 541
Joined: 27-July 11









Thanks for the instructions on how to disable nouveau and install a source driver. It went very smoothly once I had figured out how to spell "nouveau".

If you have a very old nvidia card, you quite possibly may as well leave nouveau alone though.

If your interest is just graphics, almost certainly the binary rpm of the nvidia driver is ok. It's a big pain to recompile each time, although I had a script in postinst.d that does it automatically when the system comes up from a kernel upgrade. the nvidia installer is smart, and will download the latest driver actually. But I've lost the postinst.d script. I'll post it when I've re-done it.

There is probably only one reason to install the latest nvidia driver from source, and that is if you use CUDA.

And in fact, I chose scientific linux because it (i.e. RHEL) is the most stable long term platform with CUDA support. So far I am pleased.

most persons would want the binary driver, I don't think there have been huge changes in openGL handling and stuff since 186.x drivers. Presumably you aren't playing a lot of video games.
PMEmail Poster
^
Glennzo
 Posted: Jul 28 2011, 10:41 AM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Member No.: 45
Joined: 14-April 11









Isn't it the akmods that will rebuild the kernel modules if there's a kernel update and not the kmods or are the akmod packages not available for SL unless you perform some repository magic?

kmod-nvidia
akmod-nvidia



--------------------
Glenn
Powered by Fedora 19


Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1.5TB SATA / NVIDIA GT218 GeForce 8400 GS
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Jul 28 2011, 10:43 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









That is correct, akmod will restore/rebuild things when you install a new kernel.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
mack_guy911
 Posted: Aug 12 2011, 11:34 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 79
Member No.: 81
Joined: 21-April 11









one more way to disable nouveau drivers

the below commond will edit grub.conf

Edit grub.conf


this command adds rdblacklist=nouveau option to /boot/grub/grub.conf



Code:

su -
sed -i '/root=/s|$| rdblacklist=nouveau nouveau.modeset=0|' /boot/grub/grub.conf
mv /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r).img /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r)-nouveau.img
dracut /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r).img $(uname -r)

2. Reboot

soruce:fedora forums


--------------------
Bhagvad gita verse 20: soul can never be created nor be destroyed, but moves on from one body to another upon death.
Science says : Energy can neither be created or destroyed......it is tranformed from one state to another.

PM
^
redman
 Posted: Aug 12 2011, 02:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1401
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (mack_guy911 @ Aug 12 2011, 01:34 PM)
one more way to disable nouveau drivers

...

this command adds rdblacklist=nouveau option to /boot/grub/grub.conf

Keep in mind that this will partially disable Nouveau.
You need to do this before you install the Nvidia driver.
And the driver will add the blacklist option to the modprobe directory.


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
Build server: HP Proliant ML350 G5, 1x Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5410, 9GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 730 1GB, SL6.6 x86_64
PM
^
neighborlee
 Posted: Sep 16 2011, 02:58 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Member No.: 421
Joined: 11-July 11









QUOTE (redman @ Apr 8 2011, 03:12 AM)
Originally posted by joutlan:

Installing can be done by using the ElRepo repositories.

CODE
#yum install kmod-nvidia


reboot.  Disable Repositories above.

EASIER: do this:

CODE
yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia


this will temporarily enable the required repo.  You shouldn't have to rebuild the Nvidia-driver again even after kernel updates.


Searching for 'kmod' or 'nvidia' in add/remove comes up with nothing, and by inspecting visually in that interface, elrepo shows up under repo list but I guess its not installed automatically given there is no checkbox ( this could be more obvious I think ). How do I enable/disable such things without resorting to the console so as to make it more user friendly ? wink.gif

ty
nl
PMEmail Poster
^
U308
 Posted: Oct 8 2011, 02:02 PM
Quote Post


SLF Advocate
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 481
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









New one from elrepo testing to stable.
Stable 285.05.09-1

No problems. smile.gif

user posted image
PM
^
axel2078
 Posted: Oct 20 2011, 03:46 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Member No.: 818
Joined: 9-September 11









QUOTE (U308 @ Oct 8 2011, 08:02 AM)
New one from elrepo testing to stable.
Stable 285.05.09-1

No problems.  smile.gif

user posted image


Wait, what did you use to install this? Is it just the kmod-nvidia package?
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Oct 20 2011, 06:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Advocate
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 481
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









QUOTE (axel2078 @ Oct 20 2011, 05:46 AM)
QUOTE (U308 @ Oct 8 2011, 08:02 AM)
New one from elrepo testing to stable.
Stable 285.05.09-1

No problems.  smile.gif

user posted image


Wait, what did you use to install this? Is it just the kmod-nvidia package?


Yes, from elrepo - easy peasy. biggrin.gif
PM
^
axel2078
 Posted: Jan 18 2012, 05:12 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Member No.: 818
Joined: 9-September 11









I just tried this again and had the same result I had when I tried last year. The boot process does not complete after I install the kmod-nvidia package, whether I manually edit grub.conf to blacklist nouveau or not. Attached is the dmesg output if it helps. I had to uninstall the package and its dependency to boot again (so X will load).

http://sharetext.org/DPAR

Post edited to remove my copious amount of pasted text.
PM
^
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 12:55 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









Hi,

I did
CODE
[root@ISENMIC-EU0I8NA isen]# yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia

and I have this error:
CODE
Transaction Check Error:
 file /etc/udev/makedev.d/60-nvidia.nodes from install of nvidia-x11-drv-295.40-1.el6.elrepo.x86_64 conflicts with file from package nvidia-graphics-devices-1.0-6.el6.noarch
 file /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia/libglx.so from install of nvidia-x11-drv-295.40-1.el6.elrepo.x86_64 conflicts with file from package nvidia-graphics295.20-295.20-142.el6.x86_64

Error Summary


Is there a way to just install the kmod-nvidia without the dependecy (since it seems I already have some(all?) of the needed file) ?

If there is an other solution let me know.
PM
^
toracat
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 02:56 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 257
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11









QUOTE (pieniValkoinenHattu @ Apr 26 2012, 04:55 PM)


Is there a way to just install the kmod-nvidia without the dependecy (since it seems I already have some(all?) of the needed file) ?

If there is an other solution let me know.

Looks like you have installed nvidia-related package(s) from other sources (ATrpms?). You need to uninstall them before installing kmod-nvidia from ELRepo.


--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
pieniValkoinenHattu
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 03:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 1452
Joined: 10-April 12









QUOTE
You need to uninstall them before installing kmod-nvidia from ELRepo.


How can I uninstall nvidia-graphics-devices-1.0-6.el6.noarch ? (is it downgrade or erase ?)
If I do uninstall it, won't my X server crash ?

Sorry for all these questions but I don't want to make it worse (at least my actual kernel (which is a bit old I admit) works)

Thank you

(also how do you do that:
QUOTE
QUOTE (pieniValkoinenHattu @ Apr 26 2012, 04:55 PM)
I just have the word QUOTE but not from who it is)
PM
^
Nathan
 Posted: Apr 27 2012, 07:45 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 268
Member No.: 928
Joined: 15-October 11









To uninstall a package, you can type 'yum remove package' or 'yum erase package'. Both do the same thing.

To quote someone, you need to click on the 'Reply' button in the top right corner of their post. wink.gif
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic OptionsPages: (3) 1 2 3  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll