Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> LibreOffice 3.5.0 "Final" is...
yottabyte
 Posted: Feb 18 2012, 03:23 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 226
Joined: 30-May 11









...actually "LibreOffice 3.5.0rc3" and is missing the "redhat-menus-3.5" package from the desktop-integration directory. The applications can still be run out of "/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/". The new features are great, but this rc3-final-missing-critical-package stuff is disappointing. Hopefully, this will be caught and fixed soon.
PM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Feb 18 2012, 05:05 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 518
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









QUOTE (yottabyte @ Feb 17 2012, 10:23 PM)
...actually "LibreOffice 3.5.0rc3" and is missing the "redhat-menus-3.5" package from the desktop-integration directory.  The applications can still be run out of "/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/".  The new features are great, but this rc3-final-missing-critical-package stuff is disappointing.  Hopefully, this will be caught and fixed soon.



Hi yottabyte,

The package Libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus..... now provides the menus for SL/RHEL and work fine here.

Hope this helps,
PM
^
yottabyte
 Posted: Feb 22 2012, 01:37 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 226
Joined: 30-May 11









QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Feb 18 2012, 09:05 AM)
QUOTE (yottabyte @ Feb 17 2012, 10:23 PM)
...actually "LibreOffice 3.5.0rc3" and is missing the "redhat-menus-3.5" package from the desktop-integration directory.  The applications can still be run out of "/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/".  The new features are great, but this rc3-final-missing-critical-package stuff is disappointing.  Hopefully, this will be caught and fixed soon.



Hi yottabyte,

The package Libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus..... now provides the menus for SL/RHEL and work fine here.

Hope this helps,


Thanks, that solved the problem.
PM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: Feb 26 2012, 01:04 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 518
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









QUOTE (yottabyte @ Feb 22 2012, 08:37 AM)
QUOTE (AndrewSerk @ Feb 18 2012, 09:05 AM)
QUOTE (yottabyte @ Feb 17 2012, 10:23 PM)
...actually "LibreOffice 3.5.0rc3" and is missing the "redhat-menus-3.5" package from the desktop-integration directory.  The applications can still be run out of "/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/".  The new features are great, but this rc3-final-missing-critical-package stuff is disappointing.  Hopefully, this will be caught and fixed soon.



Hi yottabyte,

The package Libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus..... now provides the menus for SL/RHEL and work fine here.

Hope this helps,


Thanks, that solved the problem.


My pleasure, glad it worked!
PM
^
netcodeman
 Posted: Mar 13 2012, 05:59 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 1371
Joined: 13-March 12










This worked for me as well, but there were a couple of mkdir errors that I was wondering if anyone else had seen. The install indicates that it was Complete and everything seems to work (i.e. I can bring up all of the apps from the Applications -> Office menu).

[root@Mad-Hatter RPMS]# yum install ./desktop-integration/libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch.rpm
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit, security
Setting up Install Process
Examining ./desktop-integration/libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch.rpm: libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch
Marking ./desktop-integration/libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch.rpm to be installed
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus.noarch 0:3.5-13 will be installed
--> Finished Dependency Resolution

Dependencies Resolved

===================================================================================================================================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
===================================================================================================================================
Installing:
libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus noarch 3.5-13 /libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch 1.5 M

Transaction Summary
===================================================================================================================================
Install 1 Package(s)

Total size: 1.5 M
Installed size: 1.5 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
Running rpm_check_debug
Running Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
Installing : libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus-3.5-13.noarch 1/1
/usr/bin/update-desktop-database
/usr/bin/update-mime-database
mkdir: cannot create directory `/usr/share/icons/hicolor/icon-theme.cache': Not a directory
mkdir: cannot create directory `/usr/share/icons/hicolor/index.theme': Not a directory

/usr/bin/gtk-update-icon-cache
/usr/bin/gtk-update-icon-cache
/usr/bin/update-desktop-database
/usr/bin/update-desktop-database

Installed:
libreoffice3.5-freedesktop-menus.noarch 0:3.5-13

Complete!

[root@Mad-Hatter RPMS]# ls -al /usr/share/icons/hicolor/i*
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 15057968 Mar 12 19:06 /usr/share/icons/hicolor/icon-theme.cache
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 24293 Nov 23 2010 /usr/share/icons/hicolor/index.theme
PM
^
lemonzest
 Posted: Mar 14 2012, 06:37 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 130
Member No.: 109
Joined: 29-April 11









I've found LibreOffice 3.5.1 RC2 to be much more stable that the 3.5.0 Final/RC3. Its east to update from the community RPMs smile.gif wub.gif http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


--------------------
Desktop: Phenom II X6 1090T Hex-Core (Socket AM3), 16GB RAM, MSI 870-C45, 5x 1TB HDD, Radeon HD 6770 1GB, Mageia 2 x86_64

Test Box:Intel Pentium E2180 (Socket 775), 4GB DDR3, ASRock G41-VS3 2.0, 4x 1TB, 2x 500GB, Onboard GFX, Mageia 2 x86_64

Connection: Virgin Media XL 60Mb/s Down, 3Mb/s Up
PM
^
yottabyte
 Posted: Mar 14 2012, 10:29 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Member No.: 226
Joined: 30-May 11









QUOTE (lemonzest @ Mar 14 2012, 10:37 AM)
I've found LibreOffice 3.5.1 RC2 to be much more stable that the 3.5.0 Final/RC3. Its east to update from the community RPMs smile.gif  wub.gif  http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif


What is the best/easiest way to update, short of removing all 3.5.0 packages and installing the new ones?
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Mar 15 2012, 06:57 AM
Quote Post


SLF Admin
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1566
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









The easiest way is to download all packages from the LibreOffice website, extract them into a single directory, remove all current packages ("yum remove libreoffice* libobasis*") and install the new ones ("yum install *.rpm --nogpgcheck").


--------------------
What is SL? - Forum Rules - Info on 3rd Party Repos

Desktop: ASUS P5QPL-AM, Intel Dual-Core E6500, 4GB DDR2, ASUS GeForce GT 430 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
Laptop: ASUS X58L, Intel Dual-Core T3200, 3GB DDR2, Intel GMA X3100, RHEL6.6 x86_64
Test box: Intel S5000PSL, 2x Intel Xeon E5310, 8GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM, ASUS GeForce GT 220 1GB, SL6.5 x86_64
PM
^
toracat
 Posted: May 3 2012, 03:46 PM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 251
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11









Nux (maintainer of LibreOffice) announced versio 3.5.3:

http://www.nux.ro/archive/2012/05/LibreOffice_org_RPMs_repo_updated.html

If you are already running LibreOffice, 'yum update' should update the packages to the current version.


--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
mack_guy911
 Posted: May 21 2012, 03:00 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 116
Member No.: 81
Joined: 21-April 11









today i install libreoffice 3.5.3 working great

the problem i face is spell check not working anymore

i installed it by this way

QUOTE (redman)
The easiest way is to download all packages from the LibreOffice website, extract them into a single directory, remove all current packages ("yum remove libreoffice* libobasis*") and install the new ones ("yum install *.rpm --nogpgcheck").


--------------------
Bhagvad gita verse 20: soul can never be created nor be destroyed, but moves on from one body to another upon death.
Science says : Energy can neither be created or destroyed......it is tranformed from one state to another.

PM
^
AndrewSerk
 Posted: May 21 2012, 03:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 518
Member No.: 54
Joined: 14-April 11









I spun 3.5.3 into my remix yesterday, seems to be working fine here.
No issue with spell check here,but I do have the packages "words,hunspell, hunspell-en" installed.
PM
^
mack_guy911
 Posted: May 21 2012, 06:45 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 116
Member No.: 81
Joined: 21-April 11









thanks its working now what is did is this

http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=67#p362

and in

Tools>Option>Language Setting>Writings Aid

i disable all other dic and in options Tick (check mark)
on check spelling whlile you type

i put for future reference and for others this maybe help.


--------------------
Bhagvad gita verse 20: soul can never be created nor be destroyed, but moves on from one body to another upon death.
Science says : Energy can neither be created or destroyed......it is tranformed from one state to another.

PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll