Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> n00bs: How to install VirtualBox on SL 6.1?
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 24 2011, 04:13 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









I did this...

wget http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/rhel/virtualbox.repo
yum update (<--- nothing got updated here)
yum install gcc kernel-devel kernel-headers
yum install VirtualBox-4.1

but it spat out...

Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
No package VirtualBox-4.1 available.
Error: Nothing to do
#

huh.gif

a lil help?
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Oct 24 2011, 05:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









http://scientificlinuxforum.org/index.php?showtopic=798&view=findpost&p=6055

[virtualbox]
name=RHEL/CentOS-$releasever / $basearch - VirtualBox
baseurl=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/rhel/6.0/$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/oracle_vbox.asc

See this thread for why.
PM
^
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 24 2011, 08:05 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









Thanks ever so much for the hint, one silly question though if I may... where is this repo file? The thing is I'm also nervous about screwing up the SL6.1 installation and googling doesn't seem to throw up results specific to SL.
PM
^
U308
 Posted: Oct 25 2011, 07:51 AM
Quote Post


SLF Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Member No.: 32
Joined: 11-April 11









Just copy :-

[virtualbox]
name=RHEL/CentOS-$releasever / $basearch - VirtualBox
baseurl=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/rpm/rhel/6.0/$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/oracle_vbox.asc


paste into gedit and name the file virtualbox.repo and save. Then place it in /etc/yum.repos.d
PM
^
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 25 2011, 08:28 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









Thanks a lot, that's worked.smile.gif
PM
^
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 25 2011, 09:43 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









Ok, I installed virtulbox, I create an XP machine, but when I try to start it I get this error...

QUOTE
Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)

The VirtualBox Linux kernel driver (vboxdrv) is either not loaded or there is a permission problem with /dev/vboxdrv. Please reinstall the kernel module by executing

'/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'

as root. Users of Ubuntu, Fedora or Mandriva should install the DKMS package first. This package keeps track of Linux kernel changes and recompiles the vboxdrv kernel module if necessary.


an error box behind (before) the one above says..

QUOTE
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Pheonix.
The virtual machine 'Pheonix' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1

Details -->

Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component:
Machine
Interface:
IMachine {5eaa9319-62fc-4b0a-843c-0cb1940f8a91}


Phoenix being the name of the new virtual machine. I had run 'yum update' thinking this would update the system as recommended, but this does not fix the problem. I googled around about the ferror message saying I need to install DKMS package first, I found a post on a Fedora page giving the following command...
QUOTE

yum --enablerepo rpmforge install dkms


but get error...

QUOTE
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit


Error getting repository data for rpmforge, repository not found



which I guess makes sense, Fedora is not SL. I don't know how to proceed, any suggestions?
PM
^
spoovy
 Posted: Oct 26 2011, 12:59 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 258
Member No.: 5
Joined: 8-April 11









Enabling a repo on the command line will have no effect if that repo is not configured in the first place. An rpm is available in the base SL repos which will configure rpmforge for you.

However, do you need rpmforge? Don't configure/enable third party repos without thinking about it properly first, as they have the potential to screw up your system by conflicting with each other. Have you checked to see if dkms is available in the repos you already have configured? Try

"yum --enablerepo=\* list \*dkms\*"

Also, did you issue the command specified in the other error message? ie '/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'

This post has been edited by spoovy: Oct 26 2011, 01:00 AM


--------------------
PMIntegrity Messenger IM
^
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 26 2011, 09:20 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









QUOTE (spoovy @ Oct 26 2011, 12:59 AM)
Enabling a repo on the command line will have no effect if that repo is not configured in the first place.  An rpm is available in the base SL repos which will configure rpmforge for you. 

However, do you need rpmforge?  Don't configure/enable third party repos without thinking about it properly first, as they have the potential to screw up your system by conflicting with each other.  Have you checked to see if dkms is available in the repos you already have configured?  Try

"yum --enablerepo=\* list \*dkms\*"

Also, did you issue the command specified in the other error message? ie '/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'


Yes I did try that command, but was still unable to start the VM.

I ran the one you gave and the result is...

QUOTE

yum --enablerepo=\* list \*dkms\*
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
sl                                                      | 3.2 kB    00:00   
sl-debuginfo                                  | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-debuginfo/primary_db            | 1.0 MB    00:02   
sl-fastbugs                                      | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-fastbugs/primary_db                | 941 kB    00:02   
sl-security                                      | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-source                                        | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-source/primary_db                  | 902 kB    00:01   
sl-testing                                        | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-testing/primary_db                  | 4.3 kB    00:00   
sl-testing-source                          | 1.9 kB    00:00   
sl-testing-source/primary_db    | 1.1 kB    00:00   
virtualbox                                      |  951 B    00:00   
Error: No matching Packages to list


This is telling me that the repo for virtualbox is not on my system? I need to create a repo telling yum where to get dkms?
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Oct 26 2011, 03:07 PM
Quote Post


SLF Guru
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1301
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









I have dkms for SL6 in my repo, you don't need to install my repo to use it just download the dkms rpm package and install it manually:

wget http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/release/noarch/dkms-2.1.1.2-4.el6.noarch.rpm

yum install dkms-2.1.1.2-4.el6.noarch.rpm

job done. smile.gif


--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
hashbangslashbinslashbash
 Posted: Oct 28 2011, 07:56 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Member No.: 959
Joined: 22-October 11









Thanks alot tux.smile.gif
PM
^
feedmebits
 Posted: Oct 28 2011, 08:05 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 92
Member No.: 953
Joined: 20-October 11









installing the .rpm file from the virtualbox website worked for me. Also read this post about 3rd party repositories. It helped me out alot smile.gif


--------------------
user posted image
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll