Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Asus K52F - suspend/hibernate broken
swirlythingy
 Posted: Oct 24 2011, 01:21 PM
Quote Post

SLF Rookie

Group: Members
Member No.: 961

I have an Asus K52F latop running SL6.1, and the suspend/hibernate feature just permanently crashes the machine - a static Scientific Linux splash logo on a black background and nothing else until I force power off.

This seems to be a known problem with other distros (mostly Ubuntu), and I've found no shortage of information online (e.g. here), but it all seems to refer to editing internal system files - sometimes quite extensively - which, as a total newbie, isn't something I want to risk in case I brick the machine! I'm also unsure how much of it can be validly applied to SL - stuff like this (solution 4) is all just so much gobbledegook to me, and it's very possible it only works on Ubuntu.

Can anyone help? If nobody's actually used the laptop personally, can anyone more knowledgeable than I sift through the advice and determine which of it can be applied to all distros (e.g. the EHCI fix), so I can safely blindly add bits until something fixes it?

The closest I can find on this forum is this post, which I've tried on the assumption it was unlikely to do any harm, but it hasn't done any good either.
PMEmail Poster
^
helikaon
 Posted: Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM
Quote Post

SLF Moderator

Group: Moderators
Member No.: 4

Hi,
have a look on the redhat bugzilla, there are similar cases with asus laptops and solutions.

here:
rh bugzilla no. 694191

they suggest to create file (executable and owned by root):
"/etc/pm/sleep.d/20_custom-ehci_hcd" and put in it following lines:
CODE

#!/bin/sh
# File: "/etc/pm/sleep.d/20_custom-ehci_hcd".
set -x
case "${1}" in
       hibernate|suspend)
             # Unbind ehci_hcd for first device 0000:00:1a.0:
              echo -n "0000:00:1a.0" | tee /sys/bus/pci/drivers/ehci_hcd/unbind
             # Unbind ehci_hcd for second device 0000:00:1d.0: