Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> SLC6 as VMware Guest OS, SLC6 as VMware Guest OS
gert
 Posted: Jul 23 2012, 09:59 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Member No.: 1733
Joined: 23-July 12









Hello Forum,

Just signed up to get feedback on using SLC6 as guest OS inside VMware (6.5). Host is WinXPSP3.


One nice feature I know from VMware is that I can resize the guest OS window and that triggers a resize of the guest OS desktop.

With SLC6 that doesn't seem to work.
It works fine with a RHEL5.5 Linux.
(vmwaretools is installed, though I would like to learn how to check if it is active properly)

Please keep up the great work with SLC.

Cheers,
Gert
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Jul 24 2012, 06:01 AM
Quote Post


Retired SLF Administrator
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Welcome to our forum.

First of all, this forum isn't run/owned/controlled by people from Scientific Linux.
We're just a bunch of SL enthousiast who are active here in our free time wink.gif

As SLC goes, you are using the CERN version of Scientific Linux.
SL = Scientific Linux (created by CERN and Fermilab for general use),
SLC = Scientific Linux CERN (optimised for their network),
SLF = Scientific Linux Fermilab (optimised for their network).

Of course anyone can download/use SLC or SLF at home or at work without being connected to the CERN or Fermilab network. But there are specific settings you might want to check/change.

As far as KVM problems go, there have been several issues reported in the Virtual environments subforum.
Depending on your problem you might find a solution there.
Or if you can be more specific just add more info here wink.gif

--------------------
"Sometimes the best helping hand you can give is a good, firm push."
PM
^
gert
 Posted: Jul 26 2012, 06:58 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Member No.: 1733
Joined: 23-July 12









Hello,

Me again. An update to the prev. post. I re-did the install today on a VM running in 'VirtualBox'. Installation went fine and with the guest-OS toolbox the mouse integration and desktop resizing went fine.

A few steps that I like to do next and where I am interested in pointers to the appropriate howto's.

* Disable the yum autoupdate at boot. (takes too long and I don't' want to have a moving system. Once a configuration is established no further changes are desired.)

* change from gnome to kde

* deploy samba client with the host machine disks

If the admin wants the topic can be moved to general question section.

Cheers,
Gert
PM
^
redman
 Posted: Jul 26 2012, 10:54 AM
Quote Post


Retired SLF Administrator
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (gert @ Jul 26 2012, 08:58 AM)
* Disable the yum autoupdate at boot.

This is simple, as root give the following command
CODE
yum remove yum-autoupgrade


As for other howto's, they aren't all written as such.
You might want to dive into the specific subforums and/or post a question there.

--------------------
"Sometimes the best helping hand you can give is a good, firm push."
PM
^
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll