Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Trouble with video files since 7.3, experiencing problems with video files
Tshlin
 Posted: Jan 29 2017, 08:23 AM
Quote Post

SLF Newbie

Group: Members
Member No.: 3822

Hello, overall I'm quite happy since I updated my system to the version 7.3, I have an AMD APU Kaveri and I have installed SL since I bought it, I think it was version 7.1 back then and I was using the Crimson proprietary drivers which worked fine until this week because they aren't compatible with EL 7.3, that turned out quite well for me because AMD now uses the open source drivers AMDGPU-PRO that are built upon Mesa or something (I'm not an expert so I'm not 100% sure about what I'm saying) but my experience is much better now my system is performing better with just a little issue that I don't know how to solve.

To play video I have Totem that came with SL, then I installed VLC for certain options and I had Kodi to use my system as a home theater using my phone as a remote. VLC and Kodi are completely broken now, whenever I reproduce a MP4 or Avi file the computer freezes, OGV does work though. Totem does reproduce MP4 files fine, so I'm using that for now but can't open TS files. Naturally the first thing I've tried was to reinstall all players and also reinstall ffmpeg and gstream and the plugins but the problem is still there, also I tried reinstalling the drivers a couple of times.

Here are the some of the messages I receive:

VLC when playing a MP4 file:
CODE
Warning: LLVM emitted unknown config register: 0x4
[00007fefccd649e8] avcodec decoder: Using G3DVL VDPAU Driver Shared Library version 1.0 for hardware decoding.

then I can't close VLC at all I close the window but it's still running in the background and if I opened it with the terminal Ctrl-C doesn't work and I can't kill it with the system monitor, and it's just there until I try to shut down my PC and sometimes it turns off but sometimes it doesn't shut off I have to hard reset.