Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> raid device or resource busy
physics21
 Posted: Jul 8 2016, 09:29 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Member No.: 3720
Joined: 27-June 16









I had installed a raid on scientific linux a few weeks ago. Today all of a sudden the hard drives no longer appear with df -h.
Now I am trying to rereate them using:
mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=raid1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdc1

but when I run it I get:
mdadm: cannot open /dev/sdb1: Device or resource busy

It is not being used by anything so I thought it was maybe dmraid but I removed it and still nothing changed. Do you need to update something after removing dmraid?

Thanks for any help I greatly appreciate it!
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jul 9 2016, 03:35 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









what does the output of cat /proc/mdstat look like? Any sign of /dev/sdb1 there?
And what about the output of mount|grep /dev/sdb1 ?

This post has been edited by tux99: Jul 9 2016, 03:36 PM

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
physics21
 Posted: Jul 11 2016, 04:40 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Member No.: 3720
Joined: 27-June 16









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jul 9 2016, 03:35 PM)
what does the output of cat /proc/mdstat look like? Any sign of /dev/sdb1 there?
And what about the output of mount|grep /dev/sdb1 ?


Here is what I get when I do cat /proc/mdstat:
Personalities : [raid1]
md0 : active raid1 sdc1[1] sdb1[0]
1953380928 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/15 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

When I do mount|grep /dev/sdb1 I get nothing.
PM
^
Bluejay
 Posted: Jul 11 2016, 05:15 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 62
Member No.: 42
Joined: 13-April 11









QUOTE (physics21 @ Jul 11 2016, 11:40 AM)
md0 : active raid1 sdc1[1] sdb1[0]


Which indicates that /dev/sdb1 is in a RAID 1 (mirror) set with /dev/sdc1. What is the expected configuration?

PM
^
ralf
 Posted: Jul 16 2016, 08:18 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Member No.: 3727
Joined: 16-July 16









Hi,

If you run SL6.8: this type of incident might have been described and addressed with updates TUV published July 13th. I remember the changelog in autofs (for example: fix handle_mounts() termination condition check)

Cheers,

Ralf
PMEmail Poster
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll