Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> I would appreciate your views on if kvm would suit me
spottyrover
 Posted: Aug 31 2014, 06:44 AM
Quote Post

SLF Junior

Group: Members
Member No.: 98

I have been using virtualbox for about 5 years now and have had some problems with the newer versions and have decided to look at kvm.
I would appreciate your views on if kvm would suit me.

My primary need is a tv recorder( tvheadend) /xbmc and a webserver ( low trafic )
after that I use multiple VM's to separate users web browsers, video editing so that upgrades do not cause problems with working environments.

What I am interested in is using KVM's pci pass through to set up a recorder virtual box
and either playing back through the host or better still in a VM.

I have also found info on using video pass through which would be nice. If I could get that working can it be passed through to multi VM's?

My ideal system would be to set everything as a VM and once happy with it Don't touch it, disable the networking and only update the VM's wiyh web access and the Host.

Which would be better waiting for SL7 or using SL6.5?

My system is an
AMD 6300
asus m5a97
16 gig ram
video is nvidia 610 (possible problem) any replacement suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

P.S. KVM looks good but it's seems hard to find up to date info and any decicated forums to ask questions.
PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Sep 3 2014, 10:01 AM
Quote Post

SLF Administrator

Group: Admins
Member No.: 4

QUOTE (spottyrover @ Aug 31 2014, 06:44 AM)
I have been using virtualbox for about 5 years now and have had some problems with the newer versions and have decided to look at kvm.
I would appreciate your views on if kvm would suit me.

My primary need is a tv recorder( tvheadend) /xbmc and a webserver ( low trafic )
after that I use multiple VM's to separate users web browsers, video editing so that upgrades do not cause problems with working environments.