Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> kvm/qemu and the invisible mouse
foxinsocks
 Posted: Jul 26 2017, 10:14 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Member No.: 137
Joined: 8-May 11









It's been a long time since I posted here, mainly because Mainly because (a) my system is running pretty smoothly and (cool.gif I'm not smart enough to answer the sort of questions that get asked cool.gif

Running 64bit SL6.6 as host and trying to get a guest OS running with kvm/qemu. I've tried CentOS 7, Debian 8 and LinuxMint 17 as guests with the same result - move the mouse over the guest and the mouse pointer disappears. I can guess where it roughly is when it moves over a clickable area but that's hardly satisfactory.

There didn't seem to be any clues on this forum (well, none that I could find but that could just mean that I wasn't offering the right clues to search for). Similar problems have been written about on other forums but none of the answers shed any light on my problem.

I've tried changing between Spice and VNC display and adding a virtual tablet to the set-up but still no joy.
(I understand that the tablet should be configured as the primary input device but haven't been able to figure out how this can be achieved.)

What else can I try?
PMEmail Poster
^
foxinsocks
 Posted: Jul 27 2017, 12:21 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Member No.: 137
Joined: 8-May 11









[SOLVED!!]

Configured the video to qxl (my aging eyes had been mis-reading qxl) and, hey presto, very visible mouse. All done and dusted. Plays quite nicely now, and I learnt a bit along the way. (Now, just got to remember what I learnt.)
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: Jul 28 2017, 02:26 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









I'm glad you solved it by yourself. I had seen your question but I don't know anything about kvm as I don't use it (vmware since version 1.0 back in 1999 all the way here).

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
foxinsocks
 Posted: Jul 28 2017, 05:09 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Member No.: 137
Joined: 8-May 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jul 28 2017, 12:26 PM)
I'm glad you solved it by yourself. I had seen your question but I don't know anything about kvm as I don't use it (vmware since version 1.0 back in 1999 all the way here).


Mostly I have used VMware (Player) - since ver. 3 or something - but I've been frustrated by the problem of having to re-install it after any kernel update. [You might have an answer to that one, or a pointer to another thread on that topic smile.gif ]
I've also used VirtualBox.

I thought now it was time to play with KVM. Ten years ago I was using qemu (CLI) to run Win98SE for a couple of apps until I no longer had a need for them. KVM brings me full circle, I guess.
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: Jul 29 2017, 02:26 AM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









QUOTE (foxinsocks @ Jul 28 2017, 07:09 AM)
but I've been frustrated by the problem of having to re-install it after any kernel update. [You might have an answer to that one, or a pointer to another thread on that topic  smile.gif  ]

You don't have to actually re-install vmware after kernel upgrades, there is a command line tool that comes with vmware that rebuilds the kernel modules for you.
See here: https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1002411

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
foxinsocks
 Posted: Aug 4 2017, 02:01 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Member No.: 137
Joined: 8-May 11









QUOTE (tux99 @ Jul 29 2017, 12:26 PM)
You don't have to actually re-install vmware after kernel upgrades, there is a command line tool that comes with vmware that rebuilds the kernel modules for you.
See here: https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1002411

Apologies for the delay in responding.

Thanks for that info. I'd been using version 5.x and got tired of the crashes - which VMWare couldn't seem to repair. However, after your first response I went looking for an update and managed to install Workstation Player 12.5.7. Now I just need to do the recently notified kernel update to see how things pan out cool.gif At least now I have a first-aid kit if the VMWare doesn't like the update.
PMEmail Poster
^
foxinsocks
 Posted: Aug 6 2017, 11:02 AM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 75
Member No.: 137
Joined: 8-May 11









All good. Did a 'yum update' on my desktop box (SL6.6) and then tried firing up VMWare. Works like a charm. biggrin.gif Thanks for your help/advice.
PMEmail Poster
^
tux99
 Posted: Aug 6 2017, 08:38 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









You're welcome. smile.gif

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll