> Python Lesson 1
Jessica_Lily
 Posted: Jun 28 2011, 08:37 AM
Quote Post

SLF IRC Team

Group: Members
Member No.: 180

Hello,

I have been programming for a few years now in python and I have come to share my knowledge in python by writing a few "Lessons" for a beginner to python and programming its self. These assume NO knowledge of programming or python. This is designed to be read from start to end, if you already know the basic start stick with it, don't skip ahead. Without further ado:

Intro
Python is a relatively new programming language but with that it brings some great things its learnt from the mistakes of others. This language has had popular uptake by big companies such as Google as well as being increasingly taught in education. Python can run on Linux, Mac OS X, windows, bsd, haiku and others.

Python is an interpreted language, this means it takes each line of code from the file and executes it. It also gives you what will be one of you're greatest assets, the interpreter, this you can feed a file and it will run however whats more interesting if you can start it without a file and it will give you a prompt allowing you to write lines of code in that it will run. Think of this as an interpreter in real life someone says something in a foreign language, after the sentence the has finished the interpreter will read it back to you in your language, it's the same principal with this.

You can invoke the interpreter by going to terminal (Applications -> System Tools -> Terminal) and python "python"

CODE

# python
Python 2.6.6 (r266:84292, May 20 2011, 16:42:11)
[GCC 4.4.5 20110214 (Red Hat 4.4.5-6)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>>

the ">>>" is where you type the code, its called the prompt.

Maths