Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Xfce for SL6
spoovy
 Posted: May 23 2011, 06:05 PM
Quote Post


Retired Moderator
****

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Member No.: 5
Joined: 8-April 11









I'm just copying this from the mailing lists as I would imagine a lot of people would be interested. I can't try this out myself yet, as i'm all 64-bit, so if anyone else wants to install this and let us know how they got on that would be great.

QUOTE
Hello Scientific People,


I've rebuild Xfce 4.8 for Scientific Linux. They are avalaible
through the repository located at:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/xfce4-4.8/RPMS

A repo file (to put into /etc/yum/repos.d) is avalaible here:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/dim/xfce48.repo

Packages are signed with the key:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/os/RPM-GPG-KEY-jpc

A backport of some Fedora Core 14 packages, providing Xfce 4.6, is also
available here:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/soc/i386
And the repo file:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/dim/soc.repo

Repositories have been generated with repoview support.

Special Note:
   Many Xfce 4 themes causes the X server to crash on ATI/AMD Radeon
graphics cards. If you want to use Xfce 4 on those cards either switch
to the proprietary driver (avalaible in ELrepo) for recent chipsets
or disable hardware acceleration on older ones.


This post has been edited by spoovy: May 23 2011, 06:05 PM

--------------------
PM
^
redman
 Posted: May 23 2011, 06:06 PM
Quote Post


Retired SLF Administrator
********

Group: Admins
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 2
Joined: 8-April 11









Great find spoovy!

--------------------
"Sometimes the best helping hand you can give is a good, firm push."
PM
^
yottabyte
 Posted: Apr 2 2012, 10:39 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 226
Joined: 30-May 11









QUOTE (spoovy @ May 23 2011, 10:05 AM)
I'm just copying this from the mailing lists as I would imagine a lot of people would be interested.  I can't try this out myself yet, as i'm all 64-bit, so if anyone else wants to install this and let us know how they got on that would be great.

QUOTE
Hello Scientific People,


I've rebuild Xfce 4.8 for Scientific Linux. They are avalaible
through the repository located at:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/xfce4-4.8/RPMS

A repo file (to put into /etc/yum/repos.d) is avalaible here:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/dim/xfce48.repo

Packages are signed with the key:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/os/RPM-GPG-KEY-jpc

A backport of some Fedora Core 14 packages, providing Xfce 4.6, is also
available here:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/soc/i386
And the repo file:
   ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/distributions/slsoc/6x/i386/dim/soc.repo

Repositories have been generated with repoview support.

Special Note:
   Many Xfce 4 themes causes the X server to crash on ATI/AMD Radeon
graphics cards. If you want to use Xfce 4 on those cards either switch
to the proprietary driver (avalaible in ELrepo) for recent chipsets
or disable hardware acceleration on older ones.


The links no longer work, and although I found some XFCE packages in there, it's a bit of a mess. Too bad XFCE is not in the official SL repos. Looks like I'm going to have to build it from source.
PM
^
toracat
 Posted: Apr 3 2012, 01:55 AM
Quote Post


SLF Geek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Member No.: 11
Joined: 10-April 11









If I'm not mistaken, xfce is available from the EPEL repository. With EPEL set up, try installing it by:

CODE

yum groupinstall Xfce


However, I've not done the install myself. Hope someone who is actually using xfce would come and help you here.

--------------------
ELRepo: repository specializing in hardware support for EL
PMUsers Website
^
joutlan
 Posted: Apr 3 2012, 04:02 AM
Quote Post


SLF Inceptor
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 867
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (toracat @ Apr 2 2012, 09:55 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, xfce is available from the EPEL repository. With EPEL set up, try installing it by:

CODE

yum groupinstall Xfce


However, I've not done the install myself. Hope someone who is actually using xfce would come and help you here.


Is that Xfce 4.8 in the EPEL repo? I'll check it, I'm a bit of an Xfce fan smile.gif

--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
yottabyte
 Posted: Apr 3 2012, 06:43 AM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Member No.: 226
Joined: 30-May 11









Cool. I have become a bit of a fan myself, now that Gnome 2 is a deadend and the mainstream alternatives are too abhorrent to contemplate. XFCE 4.10 is said to bring marked improvements.
PM
^
thunderogg
 Posted: May 31 2012, 09:27 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Member No.: 533
Joined: 26-July 11









Just installed Xfce 4.8 from epel and it works fine! http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif

--------------------
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V, RAM: 8GB, CPU Intel i7-2600K, SSD: OCZ Vertex3 120GB, HDD: 500GB, Monitor: Samsung SA300, Keybd: Logitech K120
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Nov 10 2012, 08:29 PM
Quote Post


SLF Inceptor
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 867
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









I've done the same thing, works great...no problems. I just posted a HOW TO on a Dropbox delayed start in XFCE without Nautilus btw.

--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
monsee
 Posted: Nov 12 2012, 07:25 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Member No.: 539
Joined: 27-July 11









I am using XFCE (installed from EPEL), in your Scientific Linux 6.3 x86_64 "rolling", last year and now. And I can confirm that's works good. http://th166.photobucket.com/albums/u117/rdshear/Smiley%20Faces/th_smiley-face-thumbs-up.gif
ADDENDA: if you like to have Xfburn for masterizing (me too like Xfburn!), you can install it from "nux-desktop-repo".
If you like more K3b, for masterization, I suggest to install it form "linuxtech-repo" (it is better, in my opinion, also for the VLC media Player installallation in Scientific Linux).
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Nov 14 2012, 07:23 PM
Quote Post


SLF Inceptor
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 867
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (joutlan @ Apr 3 2012, 12:02 AM)
QUOTE (toracat @ Apr 2 2012, 09:55 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, xfce is available from the EPEL repository. With EPEL set up, try installing it by:

CODE

yum groupinstall Xfce


However, I've not done the install myself. Hope someone who is actually using xfce would come and help you here.


Is that Xfce 4.8 in the EPEL repo? I'll check it, I'm a bit of an Xfce fan smile.gif


Toracat, forgot to mention....your install command is "the" one to use....I installed Xfce on top of an Icewm installation (keep the cruft down) and this was the way to do it.

BTW, if you do an Xfce install the way I did, i.e. on top of minimal Icewm install, you'll need to add a couple things....for me it was system-config-printer frontend, gnome-bluetooth and gnome-power-manager....I got Xfburn and xarchiver from the nux repo. I install gedit for my Python "class" smile.gif

--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
fnj666
 Posted: Mar 9 2013, 10:16 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 13
Member No.: 156
Joined: 11-May 11









Xfce 4.8 is (forgive me for the hyperbole) rubbish. Xfce 4.10 is the cat's meow, though. I wish (hint, hint) and hope "someone" will make a 4.10 package.
PM
^
joutlan
 Posted: Apr 1 2013, 12:28 AM
Quote Post


SLF Inceptor
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 867
Member No.: 1
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (fnj666 @ Mar 9 2013, 06:16 PM)
Xfce 4.8 is (forgive me for the hyperbole) rubbish. Xfce 4.10 is the cat's meow, though. I wish (hint, hint) and hope "someone" will make a 4.10 package.


So do I...I use 4.8 just because it remembers my numlock key http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b390/pep_133/smileys/rofl.gif?t=1241899258

--------------------
DΞLL Precision M6700: 17 inch NB//i7-quad w/USB 3.0, 16.0GB, Quadro K5000M 2.0GB DDR3, RGBLED //W8P64/Scientific Linux 6.4 x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 Nirvana: 13 inch NB w/ IntelSSD// W8Px64 (Work;Games)
Nexus 4 //Android
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
^
monsee
 Posted: Nov 29 2013, 12:09 PM
Quote Post


SLF Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Member No.: 539
Joined: 27-July 11









I have just installed the CPUgraph plugin for the XFCE Panel on my Scientific Linux x86_64, version 6.4 (keep updated).
I have downloaded the

xfce4-cpugraph-plugin-1.0.1-1-mdv2011.0.x86_64

and, after, proceed to install it, previus enabling the EPEL Repo.
It work, and work very good, on my little notebook. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2835777/egyptian.gif
PM
^
World Domination Studios
 Posted: Feb 27 2016, 09:22 PM
Quote Post


SLF Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Member No.: 3413
Joined: 16-April 15









QUOTE (fnj666 @ Mar 9 2013, 02:16 PM)
Xfce 4.8 is (forgive me for the hyperbole) rubbish. Xfce 4.10 is the cat's meow, though. I wish (hint, hint) and hope "someone" will make a 4.10 package.


Has any progress been made on this front in the past 3 years?
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll