> Default user right to reboot?
lionelguy
 Posted: Feb 18 2015, 02:56 PM
Quote Post

SLF Newbie

Group: Members
Member No.: 3367

Dear SLers,

I'm relatively new to SL, I am used to OpenSUSE.
I just installed a fresh copy of SL7, and was very surprised to be able to run the 'reboot' when logged in with a non-admin user. I tested the shutdown command but got "Must be root" message. I didn't alter the sudo.conf or sudoers files.

Is it really a desired behavior? Shouldn't simple users be prevented to reboot? How do I change this?

Thanks for your help!

Lionel
PM
^
joka
 Posted: Feb 19 2015, 07:18 PM
Quote Post

SLF Geek

Member No.: 107

QUOTE (lionelguy @ Feb 18 2015, 03:56 PM)
Dear SLers,

I'm relatively new to SL, I am used to OpenSUSE.
I just installed a fresh copy of SL7, and was very surprised to be able to run the 'reboot' when logged in with a non-admin user. I tested the shutdown command but got "Must be root" message. I didn't alter the sudo.conf or sudoers files.

Is it really a desired behavior? Shouldn't simple users be prevented to reboot? How do I change this?

Thanks for your help!

Lionel

Both commands are now symbolic links to "systemctl" (control tool for system daemon).
I would also expect only a user with an account of type "System Administrator" should be able to reboot.
But surprisingly any user (added by GNOME->Settings->User) seems to be able to reboot. This rule is defined by a policykit rule, I suppose the one in /usr/share/polkit-1/action//org.freedesktop.login1.policy
CODE
       <action id="org.freedesktop.login1.reboot-multiple-sessions">
               <description>Reboot the system while other users are logged in</description>
               <message>Authentication is required for rebooting the system while other users are logged in.</message>
               <defaults>
                       <allow_any>auth_admin_keep</allow_any>
                       <allow_inactive>auth_admin_keep</allow_inactive>