Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Connecting VMs to Physical Network
jerber9264
 Posted: Feb 14 2014, 05:01 AM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2962
Joined: 14-February 14









Good evening everyone,

I am trying to connect my VMs directly to my physical network. I am still learning the command line options for virtual machines and feel comfortable with them, but need some guidance. My physical network looks like this:

Cisco 2811 router: 192.168.0.1/24
Dell Poweredge 2950 (running VMware ESXi): 192.168.0.2/24
Cheap Dell Inspiron (running SL 6.4): 192.168.0.10/24

I would like to migrate my VMs from VMware over to the Dell Inspiron and load SL onto the Poweredge and then migrate them back over. Any ideas or recommendations are more than welcome.

Thank you,
PMEmail Poster
^
jerber9264
 Posted: Feb 15 2014, 01:12 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2962
Joined: 14-February 14









Okay, so as a quick work around I added a static route to the default 192.168.122.0/24 network. Now I am able to ping back and fourth, but I am dropping roughly 20% packets. I am assuming due to the cheap NIC I have installed, that may be causing the dropped packets. But even though there is a static entry in my router, and I am able to ping, DNS resolution has become my new issue. I can ping my internal DNS server.
PMEmail Poster
^
otach
 Posted: Jan 28 2015, 08:40 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 8
Member No.: 3095
Joined: 17-May 14









QUOTE (jerber9264 @ Feb 15 2014, 01:12 PM)
Okay, so as a quick work around I added a static route to the default 192.168.122.0/24 network. Now I am able to ping back and fourth, but I am dropping roughly 20% packets. I am assuming due to the cheap NIC I have installed, that may be causing the dropped packets. But even though there is a static entry in my router, and I am able to ping, DNS resolution has become my new issue. I can ping my internal DNS server.


It is possible there there is a speed or duplex mismatch on the network, since so many packets are lost. Have you try configuring speed and duplex of the ESXi host physical network adapter? Here are the instructions:

http://vmware-esxi.com/configuring-speed-and-duplex/

--------------------
My life is my message. - Mahatma Gandhi
PM
^
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll