Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Help with audio setup on SL6
woose
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 12:30 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 3711
Joined: 11-June 16









Hi,

I've been using SL6 for a while as a PBX server but because it's the only computer I have free wiith sound capapbility. I've been scouring google for a day, installed and removed all kinds of packages, but there's not much good info out there, especially for SL.

My /proc/asound:
CODE
root@IncrediblePBX:/proc $ ll /proc/asound
total 0
dr-xr-xr-x 9 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 card0
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 cards
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 devices
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 5 Jun 11 08:23 I82801DBICH4 -> card0
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 modules
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 oss
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 pcm
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 seq
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 timers
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jun 11 08:23 version


And aplay -l output:
CODE
root@IncrediblePBX:/proc $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
 Subdevices: 1/1
 Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - IEC958]
 Subdevices: 1/1
 Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


So I have a widely supported device and the kernel sees it, but there are no /dev/mixer or /dev/dsp or /dev/asound or anything that programs complain about. Does anyone know how to set up SL for sound or a good link?

Thanks,
Steve
PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 12:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









So what happens if you try to play a sound file?

What error messages do you get?

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
woose
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 01:08 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 3711
Joined: 11-June 16









The last time I played something was urandom, and it couldn't "adjust the samplerate." Before that I was trying to use a program called dsd and it said "could not open /dev/audio"

QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 11 2016, 07:52 AM)
So what happens if you try to play a sound file?

What error messages do you get?

PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 02:49 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









Aplay can also be used to play audio files, no need to use obscure programs like 'dsd' (I have never heard of it at least).

Can you try the following in a terminal:

aplay /dev/urandom

And post the output you get and check whether you hear anything?

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
woose
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 03:59 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 3711
Joined: 11-June 16









This is what I get:
CODE
root@IncrediblePBX:/proc $ aplay /dev/urandom
Playing raw data '/dev/urandom' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:1147: Sample format non available
Available formats:
- S16_LE
- S32_LE
You have new mail in /var/spool/mail/root


Dsd is a program for decoding digital radio signals which I'd really like to get going. Thanks so much for your help!


QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 11 2016, 09:49 AM)
Aplay can also be used to play audio files, no need to use  obscure programs like 'dsd' (I  have never heard of it at least).

Can you try the following in a terminal:

aplay /dev/urandom

And post the output you get and check whether you hear anything?

PM
^
tux99
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 05:10 PM
Quote Post


SLF Moderator
********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1276
Member No.: 224
Joined: 28-May 11









Do you have a GUI installed and running on this system or is it a pure server install with only command line console access?

Can you try the same aplay command as normal user, not 'root'?

I also wonder if Pulseaudio is interfering as it often does, in that case it might be worth eliminating pulseaudio first.
See here for how to do that:
http://scientificlinuxforum.org/index.php?act=ST&f=6&t=618

This post has been edited by tux99: Jun 11 2016, 05:10 PM

--------------------
My personal SL6 repository, specialized in audio/video software: http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
(can be used together with EPEL and ELRepo repositories) - repository mirror: http://linuxsoft.cern.ch/linuxtech/el6/
PM
^
woose
 Posted: Jun 11 2016, 08:48 PM
Quote Post


SLF Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Member No.: 3711
Joined: 11-June 16









It's purely a server with command-line access ... I tried as a regular user and still get errors. I haven't installed anything pulseaudio related and what was there I removed.


QUOTE (tux99 @ Jun 11 2016, 12:10 PM)
Do you have a GUI installed and running on this system or is it a pure server install with only command line console access?

Can you try the same aplay command as normal user, not 'root'?

I also wonder if Pulseaudio is interfering as it often does, in that case it might be worth eliminating pulseaudio first.
See here for how to do that:
http://scientificlinuxforum.org/index.php?act=ST&f=6&t=618

PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Jun 16 2016, 11:39 AM
Quote Post


SLF Administrator
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 836
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









Hi,

i would you have a look at alsa commands?
CODE

alsactl       alsa-delay    alsa-info    alsaloop      alsamixer     alsaunmute


specifically at 'alsa-info' to gather all informations and/or 'alsamixer' for the sound setup ..

I'm not sure if this will help you, but anyway this i did when having trouble with some intel SC on a HP laptop:
CODE

1. finding out what kind of soundcard i have in my laptop
cat /proc/asound/cards

2.finding out the codec-type
head -n 1 /proc/asound/card0/codec*

3.with the information above, searching for the soundchip info
vi /usr/share/doc/kernel-doc-2.6.32/Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt
find info there if possible, if not, google

4. vi /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and add:

options snd_hda_intel enable=1 index=0

check also
/etc/modprobe.d/dist-alsa.conf

5.reboot


I think in your case you have the 'Module snd-intel8x0' - have a look at possible options in the 'ALSA-Configuration.txt' like 'buggy_semaphore' etc


Not sure how much this will help you, but at least i did try smile.gif

cheers

--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll