Scientific Linux Forum.org



  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> how do I get sl6.5 to keep the display resolution?
spottyrover
 Posted: Aug 25 2014, 01:54 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Member No.: 98
Joined: 25-April 11









I am testing out kvm in SL 6.5
When I change the resolution to 1600x900 using the display tool I can change the resolution but it will not stick for the next reboot.

There is no xorg.conf file. Do you use a different system?

How do I make one from scratch?


Thanks

Dave
PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Aug 26 2014, 12:52 PM
Quote Post


SLF Administrator
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 836
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (spottyrover @ Aug 25 2014, 01:54 PM)
I am testing out kvm in SL 6.5
When I change the resolution to 1600x900 using the display tool I can change the resolution but it will not stick for the next reboot.

There is no xorg.conf file. Do you use a different system?

How do I make one from scratch?


Thanks

Dave


Hi there,
yes, the KVM guest resolution is best done via 'xorg.conf'
1. run virt-manager on your host, go to your guest setting
Video -> change model to VGA

2.
CODE

cd /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

cat xorg.conf

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
HorizSync 31.5 - 90
VertRefresh 50.0 - 180.0
Option "PrefferedMode" "1680x1050_60.00"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1680x1050"
EndSubSection
EndSection


just paste it into your 'xorg.conf' file on the guest (change resolution as needed)

cheers,

--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
spottyrover
 Posted: Aug 26 2014, 02:07 PM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Member No.: 98
Joined: 25-April 11









Just figured out another method but I do prefer to use xorg.conf ( alot of info ...or at least there used to be)


To change resolution find what resolutions are possible
/usr/bin/xrandr or test resolutions using the display gui system >> prefence >> display
then
add "/usr/bin/xrandr --output qxl-0 --mode 1600x900" in /etc/gdm/Init/Default just before the "exit 0" at the bottom


I am wondering which driver is best to use.
So far I have tried vnc and spice with qxl. Both seem the same is there any advantage for either on a desktop?

Thanks for your help

Dave
PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Aug 28 2014, 07:11 AM
Quote Post


SLF Administrator
*******

Group: Admins
Posts: 836
Member No.: 4
Joined: 8-April 11









QUOTE (spottyrover @ Aug 26 2014, 02:07 PM)
Just figured out another method but I do prefer  to use xorg.conf ( alot of info ...or at least there used to be)


To change resolution find what resolutions are possible
/usr/bin/xrandr  or test resolutions using the display gui  system >> prefence >> display
then
add "/usr/bin/xrandr --output qxl-0 --mode 1600x900" in /etc/gdm/Init/Default  just before the "exit 0" at the bottom


I am wondering which driver is best to use.
So far I have tried vnc and spice with qxl. Both seem the same is there any advantage for either on a desktop?

Thanks for your help

Dave

Hi Dave,
good you got it going. As for those drivers, i didn't really notice any difference in between them either. It might be different case on the some big enterprise KVM farms, but the way i used virtualization so far is up to 20 guests per host and that did not prove make any diff so far (for me).

cheers :]

--------------------
PMEmail Poster
^
spottyrover
 Posted: Aug 31 2014, 06:20 AM
Quote Post


SLF Junior
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Member No.: 98
Joined: 25-April 11









I tried to watch some video the other day and both performed poor when at full resolution 1600x900 and had very high cpu usage.

I have not tried using xorg yet.

Thanks
Dave
PM
^
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll