> SL6.3 freezes at boot on VBox
frixhax
 Posted: Feb 28 2013, 07:51 PM
Quote Post

SLF Newbie

Group: Members
Member No.: 2322

Hello!

I installed SL6.3 in my Windows7 host in the latest Virtualbox. I used standard desktop installation with Gnome, which worked fine. Then I installed the VB guest extensions, which worked fine as well. After a couple of days a did a system update and after reboot the boot process freezes after the status bar is finish, that is, when X is supposed to be started, I guess.
I'm not new to Linux but I'm not a system expert either. I have no such issues with Ubuntu or Mint, but had the same problem with Arch Linux a while ago and never could figure out what exactly was wrong.
Is this a known problem or is there a standard way to troubleshoot? I can boot the system in runlevel 3, but not 5.
Thanks!

sudo
PM
^
helikaon
 Posted: Mar 7 2013, 12:41 PM
Quote Post

SLF Administrator

Group: Admins
Member No.: 4

QUOTE (sudo @ Feb 28 2013, 07:51 PM)
Hello!

I installed SL6.3 in my Windows7 host in the latest Virtualbox. I used standard desktop installation with Gnome, which worked fine. Then I installed the VB guest extensions, which worked fine as well. After a couple of days a did a system update and after reboot the boot process freezes after the status bar is finish, that is, when X is supposed to be started, I guess.
I'm not new to Linux but I'm not a system expert either. I have no such issues with Ubuntu or Mint, but had the same problem with Arch Linux a while ago and never could figure out what exactly was wrong.
Is this a known problem or is there a standard way to troubleshoot? I can boot the system in runlevel 3, but not 5.
Thanks!

sudo

Hi,
sorry for late reply,
kind of overlooked this post, duh. From your description, you probably installed new kernel. Maybe the VB extensions needs to be reinstalled.
Anyway, if you can boot to runlevel 3, means, the OS is OK, just the X-server complains about something.

check:
/var/log/dmesg